Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Twisted Neighborhood - Klakwa - Jam Entry

In this "game" you're in control of a twister exploring small part of the typical US suburbs(let's say - via weather control system of some kind). The more destruction you make, the more points you score.

Grow in power and smash bigger objects and structures.

TIP: Tap the spacebar quickly instead of holding it.

View Klakwa's journal. | View all entries by Klakwa

Ratings

Coolness53%
#5Fun(Jam)4.00
#9Innovation(Jam)4.04
#19Overall(Jam)3.85
#37Mood(Jam)3.55
#41Theme(Jam)3.91
#63Graphics(Jam)3.94
#87Humor(Jam)3.11
#132Audio(Jam)3.06

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:02pm

Best. You win.

Mysterarts says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:03pm

Hey, I WANT play your game but i can't increase the power of my tornado and i can't destroy this beautiful neighborhood !

joecarrot says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Pretty fun!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:07pm

Very gratifying experience, it felt so good destroying everything.

Ramuh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:08pm

Haha, this was great.

dredlockz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:09pm

Same, couldn't charge at all, i wonder if it is a restrain from the browser

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:09pm

OHHHHHHHHH MAN. This is amazing. I literally cracked a smile once I 'got' it and the sidewalk started ripping up chunk by chunk. And then I was cackling with laughter once I hit FULLLL POWAAAAA and the houses started to crumble. Great job!!!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Played the Web version. Performance is awful, but the destruction model is pretty nice, liked it.

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:13pm

Linux link should be: http://klakwa.com/downloads/Twisted_Neighborhood_Linux.rar
VERY good idea! I feel like an ultra villain
For any other who had trouble playing: *TAP* spacebar rapidly, not holding it

someone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:15pm

The Linux link goes to the OSX version.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:17pm

Haha, I enjoyed this one so much! My laptop started crying when the tornado reached full potential and had some serious framedropping, but then everything settle down and I could really enjoy the destruction. I was afraid that after reaching full power the game would stop, but I was surprised to see that I could keep on shuffling everything around :D

You have a winner here, good job! Thanks!

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:27pm

It was fun and well designed !

Klakwa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:40pm

Thanks guys! I just have updated the link to the Linux version. I hope it works since I didn't have a machine with Linux to test it out.

Klakwa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:43pm

Also I know it may be a bit performance heavy but I didn't have time to optimize it more. I came up with a better way to calculate the "stuff" but it was too painfull to implement at the end. I guess that's the lesson for me. The .exe one runs much faster than web version as well.

Gornova says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:06pm

POWA!!

I LIKE IT!! :D

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:56pm

Great use of physics and an interesting take on the theme! It was over very quickly - would have liked to have kept playing. Water was pretty too!

drewfitz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:07pm

This is by far my favorite one I've played. So great!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:11pm

It's just a lot of button-bashing, but I had a lot of fun doing it! Especially when the tiles started coming off. Too bad it doesn't have any sound (or it does not work on Linux). You get one extra star for making a download for Linux that actually works.

Crynix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:36pm

Loved it.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:50pm

That is immensely satisfying to play! :D

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:16pm

Great. I don't recommend to playing it on webplayer though. The performance is indeed an issue.

Volute says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:30pm

It was very laggy on my computer so I couldn't play, but playing a storm is such a nice idea for the theme !

Codexus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:17pm

Very cool idea and effect! It would need an additional gameplay gimmick to feel more game than sandbox but it's still pretty fun as it is.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:57am

Really enjoyed this as a sandbox game. It was highly entertaining. Wasn't immediately obvious that if you kept on going for a while tapping space then eventually you'd level up.

jfroco says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:29am

One of the best ideas I've seen...too bad it is only one neighborhood. Congrats

lucasncv says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:56pm

Best stress reliever! haha

Kickerua says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:50pm

3 fps... not fun at all. :(

I'll try tomorrow at my work. :) What else should I do at work? :)

caranha says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:35pm

That was quite fun and original. I liked playing with the tornado, it also felt a bit katamari-sh, which is always a good thing.

It would be cool if there were more things to blow up!

The only complaint I have is the need to tap a button - are you trying to be the villain to our poor carpal tunnels? :-D

Digiraze says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:11pm

Very very very impressive. Just a little too short, I guess I just wanted to destroy more =D

Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:03pm

This is a great idea! The graphics also fit beautifully.

But in dire need of polish. Why does the intro-screen take so long and is unskippable? The controls are also unintuitive.

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:51pm

Cool stuff :). I wish that the object could stay longer in the tornado.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:59pm

Oh my yes. Could use a cigarette now, though I quit three years ago.. still... I might go have one now.

Oreganik says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:34pm

Great idea, but I think it's going to require some more thought on optimization, controls, and feedback before it's a winner. Still, killer idea. Stick with it!

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:57am

An excellent Twist on the Katamari Mechanic. Heh heh.

Nice work!

Klakwa says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:03am

Thanks so much guys ! Surely the game requires a lot of more work to be great, but that's the best I could come up with during those three days on my own.

Thanks for all the feedback, I agree with it and I'll take it into my heart!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:59pm

That was pretty entertaining :)
Now I want to destroy BIGGER CITIES!

Freakill says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:32pm

Really cool game. A little bit evil also with my laptop's SPACEBAR but funny mechanics. Too short though :(

cappelnord says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:55pm

that was fun!

kddekadenz says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:01pm

It was a lot of fun, but when it got to the houses it did get laggy. But I have a relatively old computer, so thats just fine.

bentog says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Cool, but did you REALLY do everything in 48 hours? The skybox, water too? If so, congratulations, you have made an awesome game. For the people who canot charge, you have to TAP space quickly!

bentog says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:12pm

Oh, I meant 72 hours, didn't realize it was Jam.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:38pm

Good use of physics, but that's what made it resource-intensive. This game is great for giving you a feeling of power.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:33pm

Really nice! The only downside is cpu eating physics, maybe less objects.

Klakwa says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:43am

@bentog I did it all in Unity, so making the physics was just the case of creatively using what they provide with the engine. Same goes for the water and skybox, those come bundled with Unity as example assets. All I had to do was to come up with the idea for the game, code it and make all the geometry for the island/objects, few textures for the effects and to make this stuff to work and swap when needed. I recorded sound on my headset and edited it in Adobe Audition (which to be honest I've launched for the first time in my life). I used basic materials without any textures or UV mapping on objects to save time. Objects are reused and just slightly remodelled or rescaled/rotated to get the variety.

That's my first Ludum Dare or any game jam entry to be honest and I've spent all three days on it with regular sleep and breaks for walking the dog and eating so it was pretty busy time :)

I've been working in the "AAA" biz for good few years so I guess the speed comes with the experience in it and those "you need to make milion times for tomorrow" moments. Now I'm trying to do something on my own and have fun :)

Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:53am

Really enjoyable game with awesome graphics & physics! Another boware epic sotry 13/10

hypp says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:26pm

Very good idea, and quite fun once I figured out what to do!

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:15pm

Great entry! Next, I want to be a tsunami.

lekochen says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:25am

A little bit too easy, but awesome visual and sound effects.

recursor says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:56pm

Oh yeah! I noticed myself smiling once I reached power level 2. This one was lots of fun and very inventive. Absolutely LOVED the details with all the pieces flying around. Fantastic work!

Winterblood says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:31pm

Great software toy. Would have been more fun to have to absorb smaller twisters to grow instead of mashing SPACE, but a great visceral feeling nonetheless :)

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 3:35am

Great physics and graphics! It would be nice if there were a way to lose though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]