About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 10 hours, 9 minutes, 29 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 10 hours, 21 minutes, 29 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 11 hours, 9 minutes, 29 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Kill? - feili - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    hello Ludum Dare, first time here, I'm going for a VERY small game... Since this is my second speedrun game (the first one was for the 7DFPS and was named Corpse Garden, and I learned a lot.) My concept is almost on the title... You are a villain... should you kill the victim?

    I've rushed it fast! It's filthy, from graphics to code, but it's kind of finished in time. I'm using unity indie, by the way.

    Oh, and there's an evil goat.

    View feili's journal. | View all entries by feili

    Ratings

    Coolness77%
    #14Graphics4.39
    #50Mood3.61
    #114Theme3.78
    #225Audio2.87
    #641Overall2.44
    #656Innovation2.23
    #707Humor1.30
    #753Fun1.69

    Comments

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 5:46pm

    ...looks nice!

    Dec 16, 2012 @ 7:18pm

    cool

    celsyum says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:52pm

    i got error : Bad file length :(

    feili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:04am

    Yep, I was uploading right then, unlucky you, but it should be okay by now! =)

    rasmusrn says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:37am

    Very moody. Well done.

    Can I please have a cross hair? :)

    kroltan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:42am

    Graphically, it's cool, but has a very limited interactivity.

    Prelucid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:09am

    Reminds me of that experiment where people are fine hurting/torturing people as long as there's an authority sanctioning it or giving the orders. :)

    ahmedcab says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:11pm

    nice graphics but very limited interactivity.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:39pm

    Nice graphics and sound, sadly not much gameplay.

    ignlg says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:22pm

    Interesting concept. That's all right now.

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:48pm

    Really hard concept. Great atmosphere.

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:50am

    Top-notch modelling and texturing, but movement sluggish and can clip through walls. Like the simplicity of the concept, but without any choice it feels forced, like the climax of The Darkness game. Thought-provoking though.

    ilo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:34am

    Very dark, and great job on the modelling. Shame there isn't more to it though.

    wzl says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:31am

    Very grim and visually nice! Not much gameplay unfortunately.

    I wrote a mini review: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#feili

    If you want me to link somewhere (twitter/else) let me know :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:31pm

    You know the drill: not enough gameplay. It could be made into an artistic statement though, because the superb graphics and mood are very very compelling. It needs some more psychological elements. You could play with the prisoner pleading for his life, or that devil goat, why couldn't s/he be pressuring you to do it?

    Cool idea though! Full marks for theme and mood

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:31pm

    and graphics

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:25am

    there's no substance here at all. i feel like most of the dev time was spent making the models.

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:14pm

    Good atmosphere, but I kinda expected a succession of different... erm... 'clients'? Ended a bit abruptly!

    Does wanting more make me the villain? :)

    pfirsich says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:13pm

    Nice graphics.

    Codexus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:57pm

    nice graphics but a bit short :)

    feili says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:35pm

    thanks for the comments about the graphics and mood, you guys are right about the rest, I just did not have enough time (birthdays...) to make a real game~ and I was already too tired to push my body further... so that was around 24 hours during which the dev time was spent on the models... at least I did that okay! =)
    I really like the idea of a GoatMan pressuring you to kill him! I could also add some torture interactions... and maybe classic horror stuff like visions ghosts or else... I'll see about that later, thanks for the review and comments by the way! =)

    DaviDeMo says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:01am

    Mhm... interestin! lol

    Husky says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:12am

    Short but I do like the ambient.
    Good work!

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:30am

    WOAH! GRAPHICS!

    rinaka says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:23pm

    Very good modeling. Very moody too! While playing I kept thinking about where this could go without the 48h time limit... maybe more objects to interact, so that the player can find out how things got to this point. And maybe an option for the villain to shoot himself?

    Per says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:16pm

    Cool and scary!
    Nice graphics and sound but a little short :)

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:27am

    Has great mood, graphics and nailed the theme. Just too short. Good job anyways!

    Niavlys says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:42pm

    Beautiful graphics and animations, and great mood. I gave your game bad ratings in Fun and Humor, but I guess you don't expect too much in these categories ;)

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:19pm

    good idea for a "that small" game, replayed it several times to see if there's no other endings x)

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:22pm

    Not much gameplay here, but from a ambiance and mood standpoint, this kicks butt. As a staging of an ethical dilemma, it's interesting. I only wonder what happens if you do not shoot. I waited around for a short time, but nothing happened, which was boring. Is there an alternate ending for a no-shoot player?

    Bullseye8841 says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:46am

    Hmm. I would have like to have seen more done with the idea. Great work on the visuals. Thumbs up!

    Mesene says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:30pm

    Nice assets, if man were begging for his life or some random inner thoughs mood will increase a lot :)

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:36pm

    The graphics and mood are nice. But it left me wanting something more for sure.

    michax says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:05am

    A little to short :) Nice mood though.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]