December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Here be Dragn

by doos - Jam Entry

Plays a bit like centipede.. Dragon unlocks in a few seconds from game start.. If you can keep the health green, you're doing well. If it goes red, ragequit!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#96Audio(Jam)3.23
#175Fun(Jam)2.76
#177Innovation(Jam)2.79
#186Theme(Jam)3.16
#186Humor(Jam)2.45
#224Graphics(Jam)2.80
#247Mood(Jam)2.48
#248Overall(Jam)2.67

Comments

Stryphe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:09am

I enjoy the retro centipede evil brother appeal of it. Nice work

Toadpud says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:11am

Not bad, but it feels lacking. Maybe add firebreath or more enemies?

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:24am

I really liked the art work in this game. Somewhat hard to dodge arrows at times with the dragons movement feeling almost hinged. Nice work in all.

Oreganik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:11am

I had an urge for a mouseclick to create fast movement, or something else that would deepen the gameplay. Because the graphics and the overall feel were very good!

someone says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:53pm

Loved the dragon graphics and motion.
The game froze after eating lots of knights.

blob says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:56pm

Would be interesting if the tail could block attacks and only the head can be hurt. With more ennemy types and ennemies coming from different side you could have an interesting strategy action game here.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:29pm

Great work on the guitar track! I liked the look of the dragon although the guys attacking him could perhaps do with a bit of work/variety.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:48pm

Cool! Nice job... especially with the music...

hnjslater says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:18pm

Very nice little game.

maiev says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Great graphics and loved the sound effects. I assume you voiced all of them : )

One problem was that I couldn't really figure out a "goal" of the game. I wasn't really sure what actually hurt me (probably arrows but sometimes i took damage and sometimes i didn't) and there was no clear "win".

Atomic says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Nice mechanics, best audio so far (music and effects), great humor. Could use more variety of enemies/spawn directions. There's a bug causing the dragon not to die.

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Alright, I kinda like it! The graphics are nice, the sound effects work and the music is cool. The gameplay is a good idea, but to be honest, right now it feels a little boring.

What the game DOES show is a lot of promise though! I quite like the suggestions by Toadpud and blob. Maybe you'll implement them later for a spiced up version? I'd like to play that!

Despite its shortcomings, a solid piece of work! Good job!

PS: Oh, and it would help if the mouse would be locked in the window. If you don't know how to do that, I can supply code for that.

Encircle says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:54pm

Funny idea, but some things needs to work. You can't lose the game and music stops after first loop.

doos says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:42am

Some great reviews, thanks.. Been trying to remove the gc pause, increased dragon speed, added more mobs, corrected some minor bugs, but not the big ones such as warriors dont hit, and dragons dont die (or breath fire?!) :) Win condition is something to think about, maybe 5 waves of enemies between level changes then a final boss fight?

Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:47am

Neat soundtrack, I just wish it played on repeat instead of dying after one play.

The core is solid here, but it really does need some more. I'm not sure about a breath weapon, but maybe more sides from which enemies can swarm? Maybe some telegraphing of when the arrows will start to fly?

LogGiant says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:44pm

I found it hilarious when the little soldiers yelled "Charge!" as they ran into battle. I think the biggest improvement you could make is having enemies spawn from all 4 sides. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]