December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Angry Angus from Outer Space!!!

by Xeke_Death - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game is fully playable, but some features didn't get implemented... Oh well...
Scoring system works like this:
5 points per ship you destroy.
A LOT for destroying Earth.
You die, you get nothing.

Made in AS3 using Flixel, the link should work fine in your browser... I included the SWF file in a 7z file as well if you would rather download it.

EDIT: Just read at the bottom of the page that I can fix game breaking bugs such as this (I left out '.members' in one place..) so I have updated the swf with this change in it, and one that stopped the scrap from displaying all the graphics I made for it. There will still be issues if you destroy a lot of ships and don't collect the scrap though, because it never goes away if you don't.

RE: The frame rate dropping. I did not have any issues during development with the frame rate, but playing now I can see where it is coming from. So I can only assume that it was one of those additions I made in the last half an hour that didn't get proper testing. Seems that some sprites are not being removed from the render process when they should be. My apologies for this.
Edit: My assumption was correct, the explosion sprites were not actually being removed due to a last minute change. Fixed that locally, but I don't think I am allowed to update the version for judging.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#324Fun2.91
#388Graphics2.88
#429Overall2.85
#447Mood2.64
#486Audio2.03
#495Theme2.91
#579Innovation2.41
#592Humor1.91

Comments

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:28am

Upgrades were nice, although using mouse to choose them was a bit awkard (1-2-3 keys instead, maybe) And what about enemy AI? :D

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:38am

It's an okay game, sadly though something quickly brings it down to single digit fps after playing for a while, so I never really got to blow up earth.
The gameplay is pretty nice though, the only thing that kept annoying me was how frequently somehing exploded on my ship.

bwdevel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:20pm

The engine upgrades on higher level hulls seems to actually show down performce of the ship rather than improve it.

I also noticed the performance degradation over time as well.

Other than that, it's a fun game.

De10ter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:20pm

I really enjoyed this one, classic asteroids vs the Earth :)
Like Ace though I noticed a slowdown after a while which made it hard to play.

01010111 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Cool game - I wanted to keep playing, but I was also experiencing some massive slowdowns and single digit FPS. I loved adding to the hull!

vrav says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:47am

Man, I really wish this worked. Sorry about that sprite bug. Very cool idea and it seems really fun. I was invested in my playthrough, since it's fun upgrading the ship... especially how the hull grows. Hope to see a playable one sometime with the sprite bug fixed. IMO, game-breaking bugs should be okay to fix during the judging period, but who knows...

vrav says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:51am

Oh, yay! It took me 20 minutes to destroy the earth, but I got to experience the glory of a fully upgraded ship. Kudos for those graphical touches. I also like that the initial hull is like Asteroids. As you upgrade your weapon, at least in the web player, there is significant slowdown. With the maximum bullet count, I was getting like 2fps during a volley. Fun, though, and an amusing story. Could totally see this scrap/upgrade system working, maybe with faster controls and greater opposition. (:

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:45pm

Was fun.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:09pm

There's still a lot of slowdown, but I was able to get fully upgraded! Awesome game - I could see it being extended really well :D

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:42am

Damn you earth! Stop shooting at me! Nice entry, had fun.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:42am

A great space shooter, but the frame rate gets really slow later on (or something - maybe my engine degraded) Could never upgrade my weapons enough to damage Earth. Lost interested after being killed twice because of this.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:03pm

I unfortunately couldn't access the upgrades as I couldn't see the bottom of the screen on my 1024x600 res netbook, but still found myself playing for a while. I did think the turning was a bit too sluggish, but for all I know that could be one of the upgrades!

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:54pm

The graphical evolution of the spaceship is as nice as the upgrades.

I encounter some serious lag issue when the game was quiet long, and I think it's a consequence of the objects not disappearing after a while.

Great work.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:24pm

I found the tracking thing that exploded on my ship a little too persistent and frequent. Other than that, I enjoyed this game. Good job.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:38am

Great stuff. Always wanted to blast that damned Earth to pieces. Let's all embrace global warming!

Seriously, though, I thought it was pretty solid and challenging, good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]