December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Kalinka Christmas

by serebroff - Jam Entry

An evil chicken legged hut destroys innocent children during Christmas season.

Made for your pleasure by geekparty of
Code: nulldivide
Art: serebroff
Music: sk1e

Instructions:
Kick while the arrow on the screen is red.
LEFT and RIGHT keys to kick.
LEFT + RIGHT keys to double-kick.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#33Humor(Jam)3.56
#130Audio(Jam)3.07
#171Innovation(Jam)2.81
#213Fun(Jam)2.59
#216Theme(Jam)3.00
#237Graphics(Jam)2.70
#242Overall(Jam)2.70
#252Mood(Jam)2.46
#711Coolness47%

Comments

Ashkin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:31am

haha what
The graphics were... interesting, and the music was okay.
The game mechanics seem pretty simplistic, but they work.
I love the house's dance, though...

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:34am

This is overly difficult, in my opinion.

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:48am

So fun! :)

mutuwarejam says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:58pm

Nice work on the increasing music!

lotusgame says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:01pm

I like the way this house monster is not the truly villain of this universe. Poor house monster.. always seeing him die.

master4523 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:02pm

That game is really creepy :)
Nice and weird concept, I wish the game was more forgiving with the collisions though.

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:26pm

Nice music and funny game :)

iamorim says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:34pm

It is funny haiuheiauhea :) but the game mechanics is a little strange. ^^

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:26pm

out of curiosity, did you record the crying by yourself?

Peping says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:51pm

The collisions are terrible, I didn't find this game fun :/ The music was ok, and the graphics are funny.

nulld says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:09am

> raincole,
We like tru villains made our girls crying :)

> Peping,
U are right, Bro, collisons sucks. Cause, we are not proccessing collisions at all. This should have been GuitarHero-like gameplay (only tap time matters). We will fix this annoying bug with HitTheGoal/Fail visual representation soon in after party build.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:44pm

concept interesting, like the old game&watch games...
Sadly, it's lacking more good design to be more enjoyable.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:03pm

That was like Dance Dance Revolution on some sort of trip!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:20am

what the heck did i just play

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]