December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Villain from Nooblord band

by gwozdziu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your task is just to reach the highest level. Knights are stronger in each lvl. You will die often, but this is not problem here, If you want be stronger try to collect eggs, you will find them in red barrels. You are bad guy who is killing good knights.

My first ludum dare and first game written in less than 2 days.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#504Innovation2.57
#613Fun2.27
#687Graphics2.00
#709Humor1.23
#711Coolness47%
#719Mood1.78
#731Overall2.14
#732Theme1.95

Comments

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:43pm

I get an error when I run this game:

"Could not find the main class: villain.Component"

Will check back later

gwozdziu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:57pm

You need to have java 1.7 to play this game. Now I can't fix it.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:44pm

It ran for me. Cool idea, reminded me a bit of puzzle quest.

tompudding says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Very loosely related to the theme, but kind of fun once I got the hang of it. I found myself wishing there was more skill involved, and that I could tell how much money I had.

BiceMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:51pm

Good try, need some more polish in both art and game design though. Good work!

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:28pm

Interesting idea, although I'm always getting "0 coins", which seems to be a bug.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:32pm

Most of it was just random clicking unfortunately. I made it to level 14 before the knights killed me. I like the overall idea, it's just poorly implemented. Also, buying new equipment is almost impossible, because each item costs 100 coins. I couldn't see how many I had, but I know there would be many levels until you could finally heal yourself :s.

Still, very interesting concept; was fun to play.

Cabral says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:11pm

It's not a bad idea, but there should have been some actual gameplay to it rather than mostly clicking around at random, like EatenAlive mentioned.

And of course, it's also unpolished and pretty bugged up, but this can be excused for a first timer. I've never used Java, so I can only imagine what problems you ran in to. I guess, be more careful about the design, next time.

Nick Cash says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:33am

In the words of my Jam teammate:

A decent first attempt, but like others have mentioned I just kinda randomly clicked on stuff. It reminded me of minesweeper a little bit actually.

Norgg says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 7:36pm

As mentioned by others, the balance here seems to be pretty off, I felt like I'd never be able to afford the shop items and was just hoping to randomly get through levels without many fights to survive.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]