December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Executioner's Calling

by IndieWithASide - Jam Entry

Story :
The king has sentenced them all to death! As the executioner, it is your job to match the condemned with the proper murder-room! Increase your multipliers and go for the highest score! 2 levels to play, there were 4 but they accidentally got deleted D:

target platform was originally smart-phone. I plan to flesh it out for Android market.

Sorry about the Logos and not-for-retail warnings. I still need to pick up the full licence for NGUI etc.

Controls :
LMB to flip T-Junction direction
Click on a level button to load the level

Note : Had some problems exporting to windows from Unity. Please play Web version for the 'perfect' experience!

Team:
Art & Programmer : Wesley Eldridge
Brain-Storming and Moral Support : Curtis Reed

Engines/Tools : Unity, NGUI, cgMusic

Download the music, "March of Nobles" made in cgMusic.
http://www.fileswap.com/dl/paKwWwZQbB/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#105Fun(Jam)3.10
#105Graphics(Jam)3.57
#107Innovation(Jam)3.15
#128Humor(Jam)2.76
#142Theme(Jam)3.40
#146Audio(Jam)2.90
#153Overall(Jam)3.05
#159Mood(Jam)2.83
#884Coolness37%

Comments

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:46am

Really liked the art style, as well as the game itself. Well done. I would love to see more levels :)

NukeTheBunnys says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:16am

Great Concept

brantkings says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:26am

Good game! Too bad it had only 2 levels. I took some time to grasp the instructions though.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:03am

Good job!
I like the concept and game mechanics. BUT I NEED MORE LEVELS!

Tavrox says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:16pm

The art is quite nice maybe except the score, that seems out of the universe sttyle.
I didnt found the concept really innovative :/
I wonder why you didnt put two controls for the two T-Junction, i find the game too hard :/

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:14pm

That resolution is poison for laptop users, I can barely fit all the important information on the screen.

Anyway, the gameplay itself has the fundamental problem that the prisoners approach junctions simultaneously, and all junctions also switch simultanelously. You wouldn't have to design the order as carefully if the player could toggle junctions individually. This'd also add more micromanagement, which is what the game is all about.

3 stars overall, leaning towards 4. Being a jam game, I'd expect more content.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:46pm

Cool pixels and gameplay, enjoyed how the pathing worked!

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:21pm

Nice art!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:43pm

Cool concept and very nice pixel art. Pretty tough game, in fact!

Strkl says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:50pm

Great game ! very hard though, and I felt like sometimes you can't score the point because two enemy will pop too close to each other

The game is quite entertaining even with that little thingy
(and nice work on the sound !!)

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:23pm

Cool! Had some moment of great panic while playing :)

Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:28am

Good art style and music. I think a bit of instruction might help, as I did not realize until very late that my clicks were triggering both bridges at once.

Also, it might be a good idea to make the bridges and gaps a bit more obvious, as it was not apparent at first what I was to do. Other than that, a decent entry if a bit incomplete!

Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:04pm

Nice idea!

not sure I like the controlling-mechanism. I think I would've preferred it if it you click to change direction, and then it would stay that way.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]