December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Corruption! Get out of my town!

by maiev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the king and rule with an iron fist... for now. Rid yourself of the meddling heroes and corrupt the townsfolk.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#434Graphics2.77
#504Fun2.55
#563Overall2.64
#593Theme2.64
#656Innovation2.23
#702Mood1.93
#776Coolness45%

Comments

pbdiode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:22pm

Fun idea! It got really hard, really quickly thought.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Unfortunately your site is being blocked by my anti-virus. I'll check again later on another computer. You might want to check the link is alright.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Fun! It was definitely a click-fest, but fun nonetheless. Also, the first time I played, I couldn't figure out if clicking on them did anything, because the health level was just some text on the right. Visual healthbars would be awesome :P

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Well, the only negative thing I could find about your idea is the lack of music/sfx I think that would be the last polishing bit. Overal pretty good :D

naxum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:22pm

Needs more particles, haha! Pretty fun, I enjoyed playing it, but the damage that was supposed to be inflicted was incorrect compared to the amount actually inflicted, when I upgraded to 25 damage it still took 5 hits to kill a unit with 100 health. Other than some polish and art effects, this plays pretty well. Nicely done!

soupy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:00pm

This game hurt my hand. I wish I had different ways to deal with the enemies other than just clicking them. The interface looked nice, though.

lekochen says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:49am

You just killed my finger, lol. Well executed especially the game balance. Great fun, love it.

Btw thank you for giving feedback to my game, that's very helpful. I replied your comment and added some description to it. If you don't mind please try it again, thanks!

maiev says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:32am

Thanks for the comments, for the people who are having trouble accessing my site here is an alternative.

http://bluishhh.com/ld25-maiev/

illugion says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:27pm

The game is fun, i just think i had to click a lil too much x.x

Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:56pm

Cool. This could benefit a lot from some form of visual feedback on clicking the bad guys. Of course audio would help too but that's a given. Nice job.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:08pm

It gets too hard too fast, but its fun.

numpad says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:07pm

Good work. But you might should've added some sounds and graphics when you hit knights.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:05pm

The enemies have no chance, if you only upgrade the power perk. Some suggestions for improving the game:

- There must be some visual feedback. Everything I do relevant for gameplay should be recognizable by some popping of icons or an animation of the clicked enemies.
- If the enemies overlap, you can attack both with one click.
- If the enemies come from the top screen border, the back knight is drawn on top of the knight he follows.

I hope you make a post-compo version :)

rvmook says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 7:05pm

At first it was way to easy and then it become pretty hard real quick (I think I upgraded to much of the corruption at a time). It would be cool if the heroes changed color when they got more hit points. Also an indication that they were hit would be nice. As far for the difficulty I thought it was hard to upgrade in the end, mostly because I didn't have the time to click on upgrade because of the incoming heroes. I played until the end though, end enjoyed the game. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]