About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 19 hours, 23 minutes, 50 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 19 hours, 35 minutes, 50 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 20 hours, 23 minutes, 50 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Scary Chicken - Joncom - Jam Entry

    "A fox has got to eat! Collect all the eggs to fill your belly, but beware the scary chicken."

    The fox sprite was created by Desto:
    http://scratch.mit.edu/users/Desto

    View Joncom's journal. | View all entries by Joncom

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #112Fun(Jam)3.08
    #156Humor(Jam)2.64
    #163Overall(Jam)3.00
    #169Audio(Jam)2.74
    #172Graphics(Jam)3.15
    #197Mood(Jam)2.71
    #215Theme(Jam)3.02
    #249Innovation(Jam)2.48

    Comments

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:36am

    Its fun and creative but i think it needs a little fix on the height of the jump

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:53am

    Fun idea and enjoyed the sound effects, but it looks like you left in some test values on the egg count. My first egg counted for 6.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:57am

    Game idea is fun, but it seems as soon as you get an egg you win straight away as opposed to collecting them all.
    http://imgur.com/MoR5v

    Manuel777 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:00am

    I won by getting the first egg, I guess thats a bug?

    Tyren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:05am

    Pretty fun. The fox movement seemed really touchy. I fell off a lot even though I only tapped the arrow.

    kewry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:13am

    I'm terrible with platformers lol, fun use of theme but jump height seems a bit off or maybe I'm just terrible :D

    Yacodo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:16am

    Rush for the win \o/ No sound with Opera, got a scary noise after a win (sound bug ?)

    jahlgren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:17am

    I think you have the test version on the web :) all the eggs give you 6

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:25am

    I loved this little game. Great art (really liked the square clouds/sun). Music was fitting and not annoying. That chicken was relentless! Once you got used to the controls and how to out jump the chicken it was ok, but I bet I re-tried about 25 times to get all 5 eggs! Fox movement was definitely fast and you need uber reflexes to do this. I had fun though and saw it as a challenge to get all 5 eggs.

    Meep says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:34am

    Despite the cute and fitting art, you did manage to make that chicken rather scary. :P It was really fun, and at a reasonable difficulty; I could picture people trying to speed-run this.

    Luis Anton says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:58am

    That's what I call an Angry Bird! :D And that's the fox with more inertia in the world.

    Kuothe says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:11am

    Great job! :D

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:19am

    Nice little game :)

    Only downside is the fox movement. I think you finish the walk anim before stopping with makes it feel a bit unresponsive. However once you are used to it it's ok thouhg. Maybe it was on purpose.

    Joncom says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:21am

    I haven't been able to reproduce the "win after the first egg" bug, however I'm sorry that some people are getting that.

    treip says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:40am

    I like the use of the theme here, though I seem to be pretty bad at the game.

    gnx says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:35pm

    Creative use of the theme. Graphics are nice and there is sound, so no complaints there :)

    Jumping feels a bit floaty which makes hitting platforms perhaps harder than it should be.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:48pm

    Pretty fun, and a little challenging. The ground is slippery. I like the idea, I think it's innovative the idea of running from a single baddy who's chasing you. It's clever. I liked this a lot.

    chocobyte says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:50pm

    fox on roller skates..;) funny little game

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:50pm

    I couldn't jump on any platforms! D:

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:50pm

    The graphics in this game are great. I love the animations and how bright it all is. The concept is also nice.

    However the jump height needs to be higher and the audio is pretty horrible.

    Schwiggy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:51pm

    The graphics fit well together and the parallax background is great but my fox doesn't jump high enough to get on a single floating platform. Then when I get the egg on the ground all the way to the right it says 6/5 and I win :/

    mmorphinee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:58pm

    Nice but the fox doesn't jump high enough and slides when you run.

    master4523 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:53pm

    The web version worked great for me. Fun little game. The audio on the first egg was a bit annoying but as soon as you get the 2nd egg it gets better.

    bushmango says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:57pm

    Doesn't load on my computer :( (Windows 8)

    bushmango says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:59pm

    Oh n/m I got it to work in internet explorer, doesn't work in Chrome / Windows 8

    bushmango says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:00pm

    Oh n/m I got it to work in internet explorer, doesn't work in Chrome / Windows 8
    Pretty! Controls could be improved... I wanted my fox to jump 2 pixels higher...

    NostraDamon says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:22pm

    Yay! My best time is 17:81

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:25pm

    It's the first game I can complain I die too much! 10/5 eggs on last play.

    Really cute graphics and snappy controls.

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:35pm

    great sprites and animation. Very clean gameplay

    eraldo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:52am

    I liked the music build-up

    Joncom says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:03am

    I fixed the bug which caused you to win after a single egg.

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:39am

    I also wish the fox would jump higher, I keep getting eaten by the chicken on the third egg! Played maybe 20 more times and I am not sure how to get past it. :(

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:47am

    Cool entry. I loves how picking up the eggs adds extra elements to the music (a-la Bit Trip Runner)

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:11am

    Really hard but addictive entry. I think I took 10 mins to clear the game, great job.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:22am

    A bit awkward because of controls (which are pretty hard to make cool in platformers, I know), but the music, graphics and atmospehere are perfect :)

    Fireblend says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:02pm

    Pretty good! It took me like 15 attempts to get through the whole thing, but it was short enough to make me want to try again. Good job!

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:33pm

    Fun to play and the BGM layers are nice. But I think control and framerate issue is a little bit annoying. :)

    _Rilem says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:01pm

    I like this game a lot. The moment when I picked up the first egg and the chicken came running. It was really funny.
    I also like how the chicken is placed a the beginning an you think: what is this chicken doing here?
    Also the graphics fit the game very well.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:44pm

    I can't believe how many times I tried that! Good job.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:18pm

    Liked it but was hard to stop sliding

    michax says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    Enjoyed playing it! A litle bit hard but not too much. Maybe some checkpoints would be nice.

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:11pm

    I loved the idea of a new instrument at each egg pickup.
    Dodging the chicken was very funny. (This jump after the 4th egg... :O)

    wademcgillis says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:36pm

    DEEDER DEEDER DEEDER DEEDER DEEDER. AAAAAAAAAGGGGGHHHH

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:32am

    Fun platformer! The controls were a little slippery but that just added to the suspense :D I've never been so afraid of a chicken!

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:57am

    Fun. Wish I could do something to push back the chicken rather than running. Controls aren't perfect yet - keep refining. Concept is cool.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:08pm

    This is lovely :)

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:07pm

    Very difficult but I like the graphics and the song!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:34pm

    I now hate: chickens, foxes, eggs, chickens, ice worlds and chickens.

    JFlegle says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:07am

    Nice game. Movement is a little loose but that's it.

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:54am

    so much fun! The sprites are also adorable!

    har_g says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:45pm

    nice job

    raincole says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:51am

    The background music is annoying, but sound effects are good.

    AumaanSnake says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:23pm

    I enjoyed it, jumping on the platform is a little hard though.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:16am

    Very nice game.
    Controls are not correct some times, like very hard to get onto platforms :) Gl t you !

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:07pm

    Cute game! Well done!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]