Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Fragmentorum - blackotus - Jam Entry

UPDATE(12/19):Apparently all the game-breaking bugs have been fixed. Enjoy and try to find the end of the game!

Use arrows to move around and space bar to interact with objects and use stairs.

This is a game we're very proud of, made in Unity 4.0 with much love and hard work.
There isn't much to say about the game. You just have to play it and figure it out, because we don't wanna spoil anything!
Enjoy!

Developers:
Bruno Poli
Gabriel Hilgert
Klos Cunha
Mateus Fassina
Thiago "Dragoon" Marten


A special thanks to the following people, who were around and somehow helped with the whole process:

Giovane Webster
Guilherme Schneider
Guilherme Thewes
Marciane Paim
Thiago Mendes
Vanessa Santos
Our friends and families
Everyone who supported our ideas

View blackotus's journal. | View all entries by blackotus

Ratings

Mood(Jam)4.62
Coolness51%
#11Audio(Jam)4.00
#19Graphics(Jam)4.35
#28Overall(Jam)3.77
#37Innovation(Jam)3.58
#54Theme(Jam)3.83
#150Fun(Jam)2.90
#270Humor(Jam)1.86

Comments

FrederickK says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:38pm

One of the best entries that I have seen so far.
Great job everyone!

bach says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:47pm

Very interesting entry. I enjoyed it. Thick atmosphere. Great stuff.

sharbelfs says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:59pm

good game, very original, i liked

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:01pm

Whoa, very cool art! great job

littleball says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:07pm

Great mood, loved it.

BUG: I failed to finish due to a bug making the screen go white after getting the red knife, but I won't let that lower my score

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:08pm

Cool graphics. But not much gameplay and you move too slowly.

otus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Thanks for the feedback guys!
We're sorry for any bugs you might encounter, I think there's a very specific one that happens if you pick certain objects in a certain order, but we're looking into fixing that today.
So far we're looking at people having at least 30-minute gameplay sessions, and that pleases us a lot. There's lots to see!
Thanks again for all the love.

Tigerbot says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Very cool. It did feel way too slow, even though I'm sure that's what you were going for, but it was still enjoyable. Also, great use of goat.

mmorphinee says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:16pm

Now that's a big house!
Great atmosphere by the way, loved it. Unfortunately I never managed to find out what to do after the music starts.
Very frustrating actually.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:17pm

Creepy

McThreepwood says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:32pm

Great atmosphere, and I love walking around the house, slowly piecing what happened.

I will say though that, in my opinion, this is a classic case of the art style taking too big a part of the design. Whether its the choice of music, the movement pace, and the visuals that sometime are overly difficult to interpret.

Atmosphere is important - especially in a game such as this - but it shouldn't make the game more difficult or aggravating to play.

Having said all that, this is still a very impressive entry. Well done!

Kharza says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:10pm

Trippy and creepy, I'd speed the walking pace up a bit, strong work!

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:56pm

Impressive ! It's very nice, also innovating. But I must admit I don't really know what to do. I like the kind of game who let us guess what to do, but so far i only manage to activate one item and explore a lot of rooms ! I'll fav it and try it again later !

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:44pm

That was a really engaging experience, loved the audio ambiance, nice design choice to have a non-rectangular stage.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:48am

Very nice mood and graphics! Nice fx, and creepy backward audio... my dude kinda "tripped out" a few times when collecting objects(?) but really enjoyed the experience.

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:54pm

Very atmospheric, and really cool visual style! Incredibly trippy when the music starts playing backwards! Great job!

AhNinniah says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Very atmospheric! Great concept, idea and visuals. And that song makes the game more creepier. I remembered several horror movies, when I heard it. Very sad that I couldn't complete it. I took a saw and came to the boy's room. But nothing happened. If it helps first I took leash and knife.

andreiagmu says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:38pm

I liked the atmosphere of the game! But the control feels a bit slow, and I think a bug happened after I got the red knife (I was playing the web version. Ah, and the Windows version's screen got cut in the sides...). But I will try again! =)

illugion says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:56am

What a weird atmosphere and thrilling gameplay, I really liked your game :O E é bom ver mais brasileiros participando :D

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:49pm

Brilliant art work and interesting story!

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Muito legal. A música, os gráficos, tudo criando um clima consistente. Muito competente.

Infelizmente, como algumas outras pessoas aqui, eu não consegui terminar o jogo. Se eu tivesse mais tempo, teria investido, mas tem 1306 jogos no Ludum Dare, então fica difícil quando eles são longos!

Mas parabéns!

RawBits says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:37pm

What the heck is this? 8| This thing is pretty crazy.

BTW, the hat should follow the head movement and I think I heard the "painting hit the floor" sound several times when I wasn't supposed to. Also I couldn't get back from the outside so I'm stuck there.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]