December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

AGENT 08

by morganwk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short game, hopefully I will add more levels later. But hey, it's complete and playable! First LD48! My computer crashed so it took me an extra couple of minutes. Made with GM8.1 Lite.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1189Coolness0%

Comments

morganwk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:19am

Forgot to put in the controls - WASD to move, point and click to shoot. You can automatically climb up walls going right, even though it's a glitch. also the screenie is a little outdated, but it's mostly accurate. good luck.

Ramuh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:51pm

Doesn't work for me (Win8)

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:14pm

Some issues with LITE.EXE. :/

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:43pm

I had no idea GameMaker could be that broken. Literally every wall in the game was able to be glitched through. Also, how this game related to You Are the Villain is beyond me. Definitely try again next time, but go for the Jam. Those extra 24 hours, and availability of help make a big difference.

morganwk says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:23am

Sigh. It sucks really bad but I FINISHED IT and that's all that really matters cause it wasn't going to come close to winning anyway even if it had no bugs.

morganwk says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:24am

NEXT TIME.

Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:48am

That's a lot of bugs, for sure. On the other hand, congratulations on completing your first LD! Completing the game at all does count for something, and you learned a lot about game maker as well.

Amazingly, I did manage to win. It's difficult considering that the player cannot walk across a dead body. o_O

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Visual style is nice and sets a good tone, once you swat all the bugs, release a post-compo version.

BipoleMoment says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:52pm

It was fun!

My only beef is that you can go upwards through floors, which I did a lot accidentally. But it was good!!

Sorry it took me so long to play it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]