Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

GLOBAL Heist - ENDESGA - 48 Hour Compo Entry

^^^DOWNLOAD, THEN EXTRACT^^^

If you get stuck or find a 'unable to finish' bug; Press Esc and re-open. Sorry.

Global Heist is a game about a cat-burgler, stealing gold around the world.
The amount of money you heist is determined on your stealth and speed.

- STORY -

Your name is James, and your greed is too great for you to contain.
You rush off to your friend who flies an airplane and he takes you to your next destination on Earth.
Your friend can only hold back the guards for a certain amount of time, so be quick! Dodge detection-lasers, Jump over pressure plates and sprint, to the large safe filled with gold, as fast as you can.

---------


CONTROLS:

C - Open Safe
Arrow keys - Move the player
Up arrow key - Jump
Esc - exit game any time

Comment your HIGHSCORES!!

bugs:
(some levels may be a bit laggy)


LEADERBOARDS - - -
1. lur - 143million
2. Me - 83million
- - - - - - - - -

View ENDESGA's journal. | View all entries by ENDESGA

Ratings

Coolness74%
#293Graphics3.11
#312Audio2.57
#340Overall3.03
#357Theme3.24
#383Fun2.81
#474Mood2.59
#490Humor2.17
#514Innovation2.54

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:52pm

Great game :3

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:41am

Thanks ParaPup!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:48am

Arg can't play windows games :-(

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:50am

Liked it a whole lot, well done! :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:57am

Rex Peppers, Sorry :( If i had GM:Studio I would have exported it to Mac (or whatever your OS is)

Thanks iiAtlas!!

LogGiant says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:58am

I thought it was great! Was it just me or does each level you beat speed up if you replayed them without exiting the program?

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:59am

It'll be great if people could comment their Highscores! (the amount of gold in millions)

-ENDESGA

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:00am

@LogGiant , yeah, theres a problem with the speed of objects... We may fix it if we have time

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:06am

Oh my is this a hard game. One complaint is that the platform logic is a bit off. More than one the platform would slide out from under me. That especially sucked in Tokyo where the platform goes really fast. Reminded me of Prince of Persia (must have been the floor switches).

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:10am

Nice! I couldn't figure out how to 'win' once I got into a safe, perhaps it was a bug with the specific level I was in (Tokyo). Regardless, very challenging, fun, and well done :D

RatDog_Adam says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:26am

A bit confusing, but fun game!

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:34am

Great programming, good graphics, sounds were used well, the only thing I have to complain about it the level design. Perhaps I'm just terrible at it, but it seemed far too difficult, and it seems like the levels were confusing in terms of where you were supposed to go. I get the feeling that this might be what you were going for, a difficult game that is, though. Fantastic for a compo game nonetheless, though!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:49am

Thanks everyone!

Gazok says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:56am

Insanely difficult, but extremely fun, very stylish. Excellent game.

lur says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:07am

143 million gold after several retries.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:16am

nice, if a bit difficult until you figure out the pattern

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:31am

lur , 143 MILLION?! well done!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:31am

Post your highscores and you'll be put on the leader boards!

Cyboot says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:53pm

quit a cool game even its a little frustrating after a while.
All I can say is that i got 10million by robbing Bern, but that was easy :D
But maybe I am just too bad for the game.

I also wanted to look at the source files (actualy the first time in this LD) as I was impressed how fast the game loads but I cannot find them.

Edit: Ok i see it must be the gm81-File, and so I need Gamemaker to open it.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:28pm

@Cyboot , yeah, we used GameMaker8.1 (it's a very good tool).
We figured in the time space we had, we should use something that would load fast and is easy to quickly make games.

zazery says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:37am

I found this game very challenging. Graphics and level design are interesting.

Patrick64 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:57am

It took me a few goes to get what was going on with the time limit / floor switches but once I did it was good fun. A really nice looking polished game, and it's great to see one with designed levels, I'm impressed you did this in 48 hours.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:44am

Nice game! It took me a few retries to figure out what the goal was, but eventually I scored 245million. ;) Nice idea, and indeed some hard levels... I thought the screens between levels were too long.

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:20am

Took a LONG time to figure out why I couldn't win, it should be conveyed more clearly. Still seems like the levels are essentially impossible, I can't avoid those laser things.

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:22am

Good concept, but difficulty just kind of ruined it, sorry.

johndb says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:27am

I managed 60 million by finishing Tokyo, the rest killed me several times. Very difficult game, good job!

cwalter5 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:18am

It's odd to choose your level via mouse but play the game via keyboard. I'd suggest picking one method of control and sticking with it.

The game itself seems promising but unfair in it's difficulty. It would be better to kill me immediately if I fell into a pit rather than make me wait for one of the cameras to kill me.

Still it definitely has potential to be turned into something stronger.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:07am

My high score was 000,000,000.

Really nice pixel art, brutally punishing game. I might have included a little blurb at the start about what the actual objectives were.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]