December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Splendorman

by raubana - Jam Entry

Is a big file, I appoligies, I couldn't package it any other way.

Simply chase down the bugger who's grabbing all those notes!
You can teleport using your mouse and move (slowly) using the arrow keys. ESCAPE IS NOT A PAUSE BUTTON!! It exits the game, so you've been warned!!

So I didn't have much time to play test this (it was down the the wire), so it's not very fun. I've included now a post competition version that both improves gameplay and graphics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#60Audio(Jam)3.43
#123Humor(Jam)2.80
#142Innovation(Jam)2.97
#155Mood(Jam)2.85
#157Theme(Jam)3.32
#195Graphics(Jam)3.00
#197Overall(Jam)2.87
#237Fun(Jam)2.47

Comments

metadept says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:27pm

I want to like it, but can't really see how to play it. Movement is frustrating, going near the notes does nothing, and going near the thing I thought I was supposed to be hunting just freezes me in static? Some aspects (like the graphics) seem well done but it needs better explanation and some work on the controls to be playable. Hope you keep working on it!

Tsuk13 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:40pm

I thought It was fun. The only thing I found frustrating was how I felt Like I should be able to walk through some of the trees and bushes and stuff when I wasnt able to. I like the idea and It was very funny though so overall I really liked it.

Maristak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:53pm

I loved the audio! It was fun. The most funny thing tho is that your concept (playing as Slenderman preventing the note take-away and teleporting power...) is almost the same as our concept. Your take is way better tho.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:04pm

Its pretty nice, but there are still flaws. The teleportation is pretty much useless as you can't teleport through trees and the range is very limited. Also, its hard to sneak up on the player character, as the instant you get seen, you are stuck with static on the screen (I know this happens in Slender, but its annoying here). All in all, its okay, and the graphics are superb, but the mechanics still need a bit of work.

Kuulog says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:08pm

This game is great, but I'm just bad at it. I just can't get within the view of the AI character. Teleporting through trees would've been nice, too.

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:41pm

Really nice idea, but not perfect realization: the movement is weird and frustrating.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:40pm

I loved it! The controls could've maybe used some work (in particular, I couldn't tell when I was allowed to teleport or not, and I seemed to get pushed around by things for no discernable reason). But overall, it was very fun! The Let's-Play style screaming made me giggle!

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:45pm

I can't seem to run it. It gets to rendering fonts and then errors:

OpenGL.Error.NullFunctionError : undefined function glBlendFuncSeparate, check for bool(glBlendFuncSeparate) before calling

I'll try again later on another computer.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:52am

The sounds are really good, but the movement was kinda frustrating, not knowing where I can pass the trees and where not. Also very difficult!

Saisaith says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:59am

I completely agree with metadept
Nice work though on getting this out during the weekend! Graphics look great!

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:07am

That was cool, loved how the guy got more scared every time he saw me. The only problem is that the tree hitboxes are pretty undecipherable, so I kept getting stuck on trees while being able to walk through others.

nathanj439 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:00am

The graphic zooming is nice and smooth, and the sound effects are really great. The only problem is that I couldn't figure out how to catch the guy. I'm not sure if it is supposed to be that hard or if I am missing something.

Zathalos says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:05am

Haha, I loved the sound effects. The guy sounds like he's crapping himself. The controls could be better and maybe tweak how fast the AI turns but overall it was good.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:42am

Wow that was brilliant. Despite the annoying controls I was able to win once! After losing about seven times but that's no problem. The important was that it was thoroughly engaging.

The audio was amazing. Truly great work there, it sounded just like me playing Slender for the first time. The visuals were mostly great too, except for the awkward pixelly people sprites, but the flash light and trees were good.

I suppose the most successful thing about this game is that you have to beat it much like the Slenderman does in Slender. You need to lie in wait until the person comes to you and then you can sneak up behind them and wait for them to turn around and run into you.

Kudos. You've made something great that with a little polish could be an even more solid experience! ;D

OxyOxspring says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:54pm

I like this take on a Slenderman Mythos game. I really hope you continue to work on it, the movement was quite frustrating so that would be something to definitely work on. Graphics were quite pretty though!

zazery says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:44am

I really like the concept but I found it a bit difficult to control. Audio was awesome.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:20pm

I always start with a bad opinion on all of this slender "reverse-remake" but i've got to admit that this one really makes me laugh, the audio is impressive, player has a great behavior and different reactions, it's fun, a little bit challenging, and very good. I'm impressed, good work :)

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:12am

Very good application of the theme, good job.

Norgg says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:49pm

I haven't tried the post-compo version, but I actually found the compo version to be quite well balanced. The movement was a little bit frustrating especialy if you ended up chasing the AI, but that pushed you into having to figure out tactics to catch it like hiding behind a tree until just the right moment.

I really liked the little touch where the AI gets more and more frantic ever time they spot you.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]