Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Legacy - Swofl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short game designed to represent the emotions associated with being the villain.

View Swofl's journal. | View all entries by Swofl

Ratings

Coolness51%
#13Mood4.00
#25Audio3.71
#94Graphics3.82
#332Innovation2.93
#383Theme3.18
#453Overall2.82
#688Humor1.50
#720Fun1.88

Comments

Granor says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:14pm

This game has a great soundtrack, but unfortunattly I can't figure out what I can do besides of walking around an looking at people. They actually look down when you come near them, so you can somehow imagine that you are evil, but, as I said, it seems like I can't interact otherwise.
Some context would be helpful.

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:15pm

People shunning the player was cool. Crashed when I walked too far, though.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:30pm

I have no clue of what i have to do, walk and walk and just trees. Cool ambientation and audio :)

killmonday says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:33pm

Felt trippy and somehow I liked it, should be more stuff happening though to be ultimate!

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:39pm

Not sure what to make of this one at all.

The atmosphere is really something and the graphics really draw you in. But I didn't find anything to interact with, I only could see trees, not people.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:39pm

I like it. A lot! But I can't help agreeing with Granor, I need something more to go on. Full marks for graphics, mood, and theme though.

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:29pm

Hey, I liked this, the strength is the ambiguity of the narrative. What is the obelisk from where you come from? Where are you? What have you done? (rhetorical).

mokujin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:33pm

Wow, your game have great mood! I like it very much!

Diamonde says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:45pm

I really liked the mood.
Those boxy things on the ground looks a bit like shadows and I think they could have been used in more than only one place because it drastically improved the atmosphere of solitude or loneliness.
I can only hope that this atmosphere you have created will be used in some future game! Thanks.

Swofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:37pm

Thanks for the feedback so far, everyone. I'm glad the atmosphere was generally liked. Also, the reason I didn't provide any context (save for the short line at the top there) was because I wanted to see how people would interpret it differently.

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:21pm

i felt very lonely here.

olkeencole says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:18pm

Wow, this definitely hit an emotional nerve with me once all the graves showed up. It'd be interesting to know who the villain was, what his story was, and what he was feeling. I mean, I'm not a villain, so of course I felt sad. But does the villain feel any emotion?

Gungnir says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Totally delivers on mood, well done.

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:04pm

How long are you supposed to play until something happens? I liked the aesthetic, but after walking around for a minute or two, I encountered these guys who were just standing around, but could not find a way to interact with them. Frustrated, I gave up at that point. If it had been more clear what I was supposed to do, or could do, or if more happened sooner, I might have stuck with it.

I liked the graphic style and the sounds quite a bit.

Norgg says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 7:24pm

I walked for a while in the direction the path leads but never found any people, only trees which eventually ran out and just left me in a featureless white emptiness...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]