December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

bad dudes v. bad dude

by hazzen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game of many ideas, few of them complete. Run an evil empire as a dumb movie bad guy: threaten evil deeds and have the world pay you to not do them. Buy evil lairs for the hero to stomp all over. Fill them with henchmen that can't kill the hero and can only die. Something of a defense game. Kind of.

Featuring:
- State-of-the-art sympathy engine - when someone dies, you'll know what the world has lost.
- 4 unique tilesets for randomly generated levels.
- Crates! Every evil lair needs crates, right?
- Brain-dead AI! But at least the hero is smarter than the henchmen...

Instructions are in the game; just be sure to make all the demands you can every day. As you get more money and buy more property, you get more evil. More evilness allows more evil demands, which net you more cash.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#332Innovation2.93
#423Fun2.73
#430Humor2.31
#483Theme2.93
#549Mood2.43
#609Overall2.53
#719Graphics1.79
#948Coolness32%

Comments

chribbe1 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:27pm

Cool idea! I like it, it lacks somewhat in the playability now. But i think there's a great game in there, worth spending more time on!

devwil says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31pm

The keyboard controls didn't seem to work for me. I can't imagine why. I clicked on the game screen to get focus.

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:41pm

Man full points to everything but audio. I had a blast playing it.
And... did I actually just play Die hard the tower defense game? Brilliant idea really. And an awesome game.
Although I hacked it on day 4 because placing enough bullet guys on a lower area and the hero being one area above, the bullets keep him from approaching when the situation is just right. I'll let this run for a looong while and then have fun with enough funds =)

Brilliant game, thanks for that.

emveyh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:36pm

That was fun :)

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:03pm

Cool slow down effects on death, really liked the atmosphere :)

SunnyCode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:06pm

i dont know if it was just me, but the mouse controlls were shifted... i like the idea, but coundt really play with those controlls

jamesca says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:14pm

I couldn't get the keyboard to work, and the clearing of the rendered graphics only worked every 10 seconds or so, you got weird traces. Like the concept though, chrome on Mac if thats any use tracking the probs down.

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:30pm

There is a bug with the mouse, causing the actual location of the placeable game objects half way across the screen from the OS cursor.

jujule says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:34pm

This is definitely one of the games I'll be playing again after I'm finished with ratings. I want a standalone. Would be fantastic on an iPad.

Mase says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:34pm

The little obituaries were a nice touch

stigmawall says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:08pm

Many game have this concept of "Tower Defense" but your have the little, but good diference: you can play with one character. With is a very good idea. :D

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:41am

A nice mood and very innovative. WEll done.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Nice game, and a really nice entry for 48h.
I really like the way the opponent's fire speed just increase to avoid number superiority.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]