December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

U'39

by NemoStein - 48 Hour Compo Entry

U'39 is a robot that broke the Asimov's Laws.

Arrows to move
Z to run
X to fire

Sadly, my time is over, but the original script was:
________________________________________
Charpter 1
Follow

U'39 follows human orders blindly
until the end

________________________________________
Charpter 2
Sadness

U'39 starts to doubt and deviate

________________________________________
Charpter 3
Awakening

U'39 breakes Asimov's Laws and kill
his human

________________________________________
Charpter 4
Semantics

U'39 categorize the humans between
good and bad, killing the bad group

________________________________________
Charpter 5
Blur

U'39 realizes that nor good or bad
exists, and kill himself

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#214Graphics3.35
#383Theme3.18
#413Audio2.25
#564Mood2.40
#632Overall2.47
#646Humor1.71
#650Innovation2.24
#678Fun2.06
#990Coolness28%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:53am

Interesting style. Not sure what the point was beyond shooting humanoids. If that was it, great work.

Volpes says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:18pm

Did not really understand to point and ended up just killing everybody which was great fun.

Zener says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Nice art style, it slows down when there are lots of people around.

dek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:40pm

Nice art / interesting mood.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:42am

Liked the art style, unique and sounds like with more time you could turn this into something interesting...

rylgh says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:43am

Really nice art style. The particles were neat.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:11pm

Intentions were good, but the game is only a go around killing someone with no motivation. Anyway I really like graphics and particles. :)

Floko says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:37pm

I liked the visuals,but missed some stuff.
There was no objective other than killing humans, but they don't even fight back or give me any kind of challenge or reward. They didn't even try to run away , I just felt ignored ='( haha

Also there was no penalty for running, like some sort of energy that I spend to run, so I just kept the run button pressed all the time, since walking was too slow and running cost nothing...
spend some more time in a post-compo version and it will be pretty nice =]

Dec 26, 2012 @ 7:48pm

I really liked the graphical style, and the little details, such as the different colored bullets and particle effects, but there didn't seem to be a point to the game. Keep working on it, it could be awesome!

laaph says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:52pm

Too bad it isn't finished, I love the style and the feel.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]