December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Minion Master

by h8urf8 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So, this is my first entry! (And kinda my first game, that reached at least playable status...)

Sry, had no time for ingame-instructions.


Goal: Destroy all enemy villages, without loosing all minions!

Controls:

LeftClick with Mouse
If you hover on something, the guy in the corner (General Goat) gives an explanaition.

Toggle Music = RightClick

Instructions:

It's turnbased. You assign your minions over the +/- buttons.
Click on the villages after assining to toggle between Pillage and attack.
Every turn you will lose Minion-Food corresponding on how many minions you have.
Click End Turn to... end the turn.

After each turn there will be a RANDOM EVENT!!!!111oneleven

***UPDATE***
Should work on Mac/Linux now. If not, pls comment!
Added a few library and converted a wav to an ogg to compensate the data growth.
Oh, and thx for all the comments & ratings.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#41Humor3.70
#59Theme3.96
#170Mood3.19
#234Fun3.11
#282Overall3.14
#285Innovation3.04
#300Audio2.60
#590Graphics2.32

Comments

Znoraka says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:03pm

The linux library seems to be missing, just add in the the jar file and it should be working

emveyh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09pm

Great first game mate :) It's a bit unbalanced, though. I can't get to the point where I feel comfortable attacking a village because i have to few minions. And if I let them "reproduce" they need to much food. That's when I go for pillaging but that leads to losing the minions I just got. Best thing about this: the random events. They are hilarious! My favorite so far is the one where a minion falls off a wall and they use his dead body to make MinionFood(TM)

jerrre says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:01pm

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path


On OSX

TheCze says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:32pm

Very nice game

arhpositive says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:34pm

Randome events were awesome. :) The game in general is good but needed a little more polish here and there, I guess. But considering the time schedule and this being your first entry, I can say it's a very good end product. :)

Freakill says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:36pm

I love this one! I was laughing out loud in the lab while playing and the special events appeared. Loved the ones that kill themselves to praise me or the ones who find worms in their noses! Despite finishing and getting nice favours in the dungeons, I must say game is a little bit unfair and frustrating, because in one attack may 3 minions die and the last one is striked by two lightnings! hehehe I know life is hard and then you die, but after 10 minutes of attackin, pillaging and reproducing, godmammit when that happens... I really enjoyed your game! :D

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:52pm

Nice style and game idea, although I think that you should better explain the food constraint at the start of the game, since I didn't get it and I reached a point with -25 food without knowing about it and losing the game for it.

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:52pm

If I try and click on the game to run it it doesn't work. I get an error when trying to play the game from command line.

ERROR:Pixel format not accelerated causing a LWJGLException.

I'll try running it again later on a different computer.

master4523 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:12pm

Thanks for the laughs, great first game!

suve says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:20pm

Is there any winning condition? Cause I brought all the villages down to 0 points and nothing happened. Could also use some sound effects when displaying messages. Other than that, quite cool.

pnkthrepwood says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:35pm

It cost me a little to realize what was the gameplay, but once you get it it is great fun!

berkano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Hilarious. Loved it!!

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Nice concept, quite liked it :)

However battle report could have been a bit better than some text.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:56pm

Was kinda enjoyable, but had to quit due to the annoyance of having one city left with 22 defense...

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Very good game, the music gets a little repetitive but other than that I enjoyed it.

Markavian says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:04pm

Goddamnrandomeventskillingoffmylastminions... was fun :D

Found it really hard to generate minions and balance the pillaging, but I think I worked out a strategy, so I guess that makes it challenging and balanced :D Felt like I was relying on the random encounters a bit much, but they made the game all the more fun.

Joozey says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:12pm

Quite well balanced, just needs some more strategical options. I like the random text and happenings. The graphics and audio could be better but not all that horrible. Well done on finishing a complete game!

markengley says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:29pm

Good work! I especially liked the flavour text :)

impulse9 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Simple concept but interesting gameplay. Maybe a bit too random. Cool music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]