Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Day Before - HardScore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What happens before the hero saves the princess?
How does the villian always succeed?

its time for you to be the villian and try to take the princess yourself.

Original:

Arrow Keys - Left/Right
CTRL - Shoot
Space - Jump

Alternate Controls:

Arrow Keys - Left/Right
Up Arrow- Jump
Space - Shoot


I used:

Code:AS3,FlashDevelop,Flixel.
Pixel Art:GIMP.

this is the first game i ever uploaded and also the first pixel art ive ever made.this game is not finished and i had to drop the project because of the time limit.but i think its still enjoyable.

View HardScore's journal. | View all entries by HardScore

Ratings

#250Humor2.88
#412Graphics2.82
#505Mood2.53
#570Theme2.71
#630Overall2.48
#667Fun2.09
#749Innovation1.71
#776Coolness45%

Comments

mastazavr says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 8:18pm

Would be much better if you changed 'jump' from space to up arrow ;)

pinion says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:18am

I liked the pixel arts.

gabeochoa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:09am

Great game, controls were a little weird but once you get used to them they're ok.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:09pm

Shame there was only one level, I liked that the princess was tapping her foot whilst obviously bored waiting for the 'bad guy' to come ;)

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:10pm

Funny animations. My favorite parts are how the girl taps her foot while waiting for you and how, when you get to her, she goes bananas and runs away.

svenardo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:50pm

"No time for a retry button". Classic :D. Love the way the heroine absolutely panics when you approaches. Overall, a good effort.

impulse9 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:35pm

Levels could probably use a little variety. Shooting mechanics could also be improved a bit. Otherwise cool. Nice art.

HardScore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:49pm

i wanted to include 10 levels within this game.but i could'nt finish it because of the time limit so i had to release it.i also got 3 more maps that i have desinged.what a waste :(

jamesca says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:57pm

I found it was only just fitted on my laptop display full screen. Would be nicer smaller. Shame you didn't get time because more levels would make this much nicer.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:01pm

Not bad for a first time pixel-arter! I love how the first time I got to the top that dude just killed the absolute shit out of me before I even knew what was going on. It took me another three tries before I could finally murder him back, but I DID! I MURDERED HIM BACK!

HardScore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:52pm

I added the alternate controls version that you all asked for.So i hope its better now.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:31pm

I think what your art needs is a bit more thought on lighting. In my hopinion things need some kind of depth information even in an 2d pixel art platformer (unless you go totally abstract). But thats just my opinion, and you kind of asked for it ;)
I also got shot badly the first time I approached the bad guy. Panic-Princess is funny ;)

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:46am

I don't really understand it but it's fun. The music is pretty cool, and the art is nice

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:26pm

Welcome to LD! Glad you finished something! And decent artwork, too, particularly for an LD game.

I like how the princess runs away at the end.

No audio, so rating N/A in audio category.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:01am

I think the 2nd guy on level 3 is impossible to get without dying yourself. I love the animations. Good show!

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:34pm

That guy has reflexes like the best gunman in the west!

It didn't make me feel like a villain :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]