December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Black Knight Blockade

by Smaxx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the feared Black Knight. You are in charge of a small passage in the
dark wood and you decide who's allowed to pass: no one!

Unfortunately there are quite a few pesky peasants out trying to cross the
bridge to do some of their daily bidding, something you shall not endorse.

Keep the peasants from crossing, but watch your rage, as you might get angry
enough causing your head to explode in anger. You don't want your head explode,
do you?

Every killed peasant will lower your anger, while every escaped peasant will
raise your rage. If your rage exceeds your rage meter, you're going to explode
and the game is lost. Use your attack key to restart the game.

Keyboard Controls:

Walk left: Cursor left, A
Walk right: Cursor right, D
Walk up: Cursor up, W
Walk down: Cursor down, S
Sword thrust: Space, Return

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#87Graphics3.85
#190Overall3.31
#196Fun3.20
#231Humor2.94
#263Theme3.44
#273Audio2.69
#398Mood2.71
#523Innovation2.52

Comments

kroltan says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:46pm

Monty Python reference?

Smaxx says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:46pm

Partially. :)

mokujin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:28pm

Nice graphics!

spolvid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:29pm

The humorous image of frantically running around trying to stab peasants brought a smile to my face. Nice little game!

ahmedcab says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:52pm

nice idea and the art style is very good.

Tifu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:53pm

Kind of reminds me of a scene in Robin Hood: Men in Tights... why is he so concerned about a bridge when the little dudes just run over the river anyway? Silly knight dude D:

Datw says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Cool, while it lasted. :)

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:59pm

Definitely one of the slicker games about, love the aesthetic! Pretty simple but it works :3

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:12pm

Enjoyed your game. Especially the art. I laughed when the fast mobs came by.

Just a quick note on my game, there is a help file and a splash screen that tells you the commands. I replied to your comment on my page for more information.

caranha says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:53pm

That is a cute little game! I really liked your spritework, and the game was fun to play. Sounds were nice too.

Some comments:
- I really expected the bridge to mean something. I understand that the game won't quite work if the peasants can only walk through the bridge, but what if walking across the river made the peasants/knigh move slower?

- Mashing the space bar to attack was not so good. I usually don't like it when games make me mash a key. Maybe just holding it should suffice to keep attaking?

- A minor note regarding packaging: Put all your files in a directory in the zip file! With so many games to play, it is nice if I can open the zip and drag the game directly to my LD folder, without worrying about creating a special folder to it :-)

Thanks for the game!

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:08pm

Well, let's see - maybe I'll do an expanded version with some more features, enemies, weapons and different ground tiles.

Spacebar mashing: I know both sides and I dislike both. Maybe I should just make hitting a bit easier, so you don't have to mash that excessive.

Zip folder: I usually extract stuff to sub dirs. named after the zip (not by hand), so I hate included directories - can't make everyone happy there. :)

bigbadwofl: Okay, will have another look.

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:25pm

Why doesn't anyone pay the bridge toll! >_< I got addicted to the game...

henrypenface says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:19pm

'Tis but a flesh wound!

Manuel777 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:24pm

Its pretty good, I found it rather difficult to aim with the sword, but not impossible.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:25pm

Nice game that is a bit unbalanced, it goes from really easy to completely insane very suddenly. Nice art style but I have to object: his head did not explode, his whole body exploded in a ball of smoke.
I also expected the bridge to be of more significance than just a being a different tile index.
Nice.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:35am

Balance is a bit based on luck, there should be one new additional peasant every ~ 15 seconds. The explosion is that way due to the armor being really tight and protective. As for the bridge... I'll definitely create a more advanced version some time soon incorporating all suggestions posted here (like the bridge one).

Didn't expect so many people to actually like it due to it's simplicity. Keep the comments/suggestions coming. :)

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:42am

I really love the overall look of this; cute sprites. :)

ilo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:08am

Simple but fun. Also amusing to see a rather ineffectual black knight chasing and poking people (who don't even need to use the bridge), he he he. :)

Felix20 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:07am

Wow, this was definitely more fun than I expected.
The balance of anger going down when you kill, and going up, when a peasant gets away is spot on, I got 40 kills >:)
Also the graphics are good, and the sound effects are a nice touch.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:44am

@Felix20: You just made me LOL

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:45am

I meant @ilo -.-

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58pm

Nice art Style.

Fireblend says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:09pm

Simple and small, yet lots of fun. Played a couple of rounds :) I love that it looks like a GBC game.

berareu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:09pm

Fun game, good work! :)

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:22pm

A nice take on a more 'futile' Villain and +1 for the knights of nee! ;)

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Fun game and nice graphics :)

Harsay says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:41pm

Very liked this art. Good game for break :)

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:08am

A fun little game that grew on me the more I played it. Loved the art

jfroco says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:12am

Nice pixel art. Hope you keep working on it, it has a lot of potential. Congrats.

JaJ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:00pm

Simple (but effective) game, but really charming visuals.

Arakade says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:49pm

"But your leg's off!" >_<
Like others, I loved it, including the pixel art (how did you do it?). Would have been nice to be able to move diagonally but generally super-cute :-)
I think the Android/Ouya/etc ports will do well -- good luck!

Smaxx says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:02am

Drawn pixel by pixel. :) Used GraphicsGale for a first mockup of the walking animation.

You should actually be able to move in 8 directions, so might be your keyboard.

lekochen says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Concept is so hilarious. And the pixel art are very adorable. :)

Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:44pm

Love the Monty Python reference and the game does well what it sets out to do! The limited scope hurts it a little though, woulda been nice to see some expansion on this idea along the lines of what others have said. Liked the art too! Tiny window size is somewhat appealing, although I don't know why.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:29pm

I've just incorporated two of the most often whished items:
- Water now slows down the player as well as peasants.
- It is now possible to hold down the attack key to keep poking.

I've added an updated binary above (separate link). Updated source code can be found in the repositories.

krutech says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:12am

Very funny idea! IT could very well be expanded upon with achievements and loot and shopping!

Joozey says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:19pm

nice graphics! Some background music would help. Funny idea, running after passerby's, flailing your sword at them. As suggested before, would be good if the bridge had more function.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]