December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Aliens from outer space!

by svenardo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are part of an intergalactic alien force determined to invade earth and take control of the water! Destroy the human plague once and for all!

Game code is open sourced for non commercial use (please see provided github link). The same goes for the music, sfx and graphics.

Music made with Magix music maker. SFX made with CFXR. Graphics with Photoshop, Pngweasel and Seashore. The game code requires a license for ImpactJS if you want to edit and redistribute the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#198Theme3.58
#333Audio2.52
#435Mood2.65
#439Fun2.69
#483Overall2.78
#514Humor2.08
#520Innovation2.53
#548Graphics2.44

Comments

joyboxed says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:25am

had quite some fun to play the space invader instead of preventing the invasion

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:01am

Remaking a classic game with the roles switched was the first idea I had when I saw the theme. I eventually dropped it, but I see you managed to recreate the old arcade feeling well with your game. Space Invaders is perfect for this kind of role reversal.
The graphics and sound effects are alright. The game plays well, but the enemy can take way too much damage, and the music quickly becomes repetitive.

munchor says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:04am

Too bad the sound gets in my nerves. Otherwise, nice entry, very similar to mine.

Idovoodoo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:34pm

Good fun. Some AI in the defending NPC would be cool.

chribbe1 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:33pm

Nice execution of a good idea! Maybe you should get punished for not staying in line with the other invaders ? Nice job!

impulse9 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Cool idea! Nice game. :)

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:49am

This is one of the better role reversals of this particular game I've seen in this competition.

It would have been better if there was a bit more interactivity though, it didn't really feel as if there was going to be more variation other than dodge and shoot once the shields were gone

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:11am

i always wondered what it would be like to be one of the space invaders. Now i know. Very cool

namuol says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:36pm

Nice to see a game with some solid music!

Gameplay is a little too straightforward -- would have been nice to see the ability to control different hordes of enemies at once, and a slightly more strategic "enemy" AI. But hey, the game plays well!

gnx says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:14pm

I liked background music and there are some nice visual touches here too.

The physics of the controls - in particular how your space invader slides around - were a bit off putting.

Also there is not really very much to the gameplay (but then again, is there in space invaders either?).

Joncom says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:16am

Nice work man. You hit the theme perfectly.

tim_u says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:57am

I liked peeling off from my brethren and showing what a single invader could do.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:34am

This isn't the first reverse-a-classic-arcade-game entry I've played, but has a unique take on the gameplay aspect. I like it.

Eamon says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:08pm

The game didn't really fit in my browser, I had to scroll which cut some of it off... Sound was a little annoying but it fitted the theme well and was a good try!

Joozey says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 7:47pm

Nice idea, would have liked to see more levels with different difficulties, and a bit more innovative gameplay. Staying close to the original is good, but to make a game perfect it needs something refreshing.

fishbrain says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Looks and plays well.

Datw says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Same concept as mine: inverted classic arcade game. Your game, though, was more balanced than mine for sure. The only thing that annoyed me was the slippery movement.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]