December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Satan's Little Helper

by Frolacosta - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Be sure to read how to play within the game :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Audio3.56
#286Humor2.75
#394Graphics2.85
#436Theme3.05
#465Overall2.80
#491Fun2.57
#572Mood2.38
#704Innovation2.05
#898Coolness36%

Comments

Sanguine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:56pm

I really liked the music and the graphics and the game was really solid. It did lack a bit of innovation though.

Fireblend says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:01pm

Nice consistent style and music. The game itself was pretty simplistic, but executed well enough for me to play a couple of times and try to beat my own score. Great job!

AdricZero says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:34pm

Great music and good twist on a simple idea. Graphics nicely done too. My only complaint is I had a really hard time quitting the app. I had to kill it from Windows task manager.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:42pm

Same, I couldn't quit it. Also many things were un-catch-able!

zzForrest says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:43pm

This was an okay entry. The graphics were okay, except half the time I didn't know what I was grabbing. The theme was represented well, and was appropriate for this time of year. Humor was nice, mood was as well. It wasn't all that fun, though, since I couldn't tell what the heck was being launched at me. Overall, it's okay!

Frolacosta says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44pm

Ah yes, my bad on that quitting error. Thanks for pointing it out, it has been fixed!

svenardo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Agree with the others - it's hard to see what you're catching. Also like the music - a very evil merry christmas.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Music was pretty awesome.

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:03pm

The throwing arc was a bit weird, the sack sometimes caught things with the bottom of the sprite, but overall it's a not-nice game (I'd say that it's nice, but you're the villain :) ). Good job with the music.

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:39am

LooooooL :D

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:27pm

A few things were launched too far and I couldn't catch them, other times there wasn't enough spacing to avoid catching a good thing after a bad thing.
Decent little fun game, I could see this working out on a touch screen device pretty well.

Frolacosta says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:15pm

This game has just been upgraded to also work via web and touchscreen!

Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:21pm

Your web link gives me a 404

Jan 2, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Web link is dead, will try exe

Jan 2, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Pretty neat! Well executed idea if not original. Music was great (although DEFINITELY not original :P )

Frolacosta says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:18am

Web link has been fixed, sorry about that!

tompudding says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Quite cool and fun. The name was probably my favourite part :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]