December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Form of the Destructor

by diggersworld - Jam Entry

Requires XNA 4.0.

I used the challenge to learn how to use procedural generation to keep generating new elements in a game and provide a bit of randomness.

Play as the destructor and cause as much carnage as you can. Dodge tanks as they will take down your health. The game is incomplete but still quite fun. I will continue working on it for a future release.

The game is available from my website: http://www.thomasdigby.co.uk/diggersworld/games/form-of-the-destructor.zip

Enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#54Humor(Jam)3.30
#57Fun(Jam)3.38
#58Mood(Jam)3.41
#62Audio(Jam)3.42
#72Theme(Jam)3.75
#144Graphics(Jam)3.31
#146Overall(Jam)3.09
#228Innovation(Jam)2.57

Comments

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:41pm

Hilarious use of audio.

killmonday says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:38pm

The feel of destruction was maximal and the screaming superb

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:39pm

The game does not really work and lacks polish but it is incredibly fun somehow :D
Probably the sfxs combined with the simple graphics?

It's also weird that I can destory tanks and buildings but a single bullet hurts me :D

karsyf says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:52pm

Seriously up-voted because of great use of the Wilhelm Scream =D

Peping says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:52pm

Got boring really fast. :(

Ed Okonik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:57pm

A little basic, but it's great fun smashing everything to bits. Good work.

lorancou says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:58pm

Good, simple fun :) Gets repetitive after a while but that would be a nice basis for something more ambitious.

Eelfroth says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:45pm

Love the title screen!

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:30pm

I may have lost an ear but it was fun ! Good concept !

allinlabs says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:38pm

Fun little game. I love the splash screen !

diggersworld says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Loving your reviews so far guys, glad that the sound effects and splash screen have gone down a treat. =D

Beerman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:09pm

This has absolutely no depth to its gameplay whatsoever and I love it. Impressively satisfying destruction :)

sev_inf says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:09pm

Cool! Made me feel really evil:)

Freakill says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:40am

Cool quick play game hehhe. I really liked the graphics and audio, and the mechanics are simple but fast, which makes the game addictive. Would have loved to squash the people hihihihih.

AhNinniah says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:04am

It was really fun. And these screaming sounds were very plausible.

juaxix says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:51pm

I would reemplace the bad box with an old fashioned alien ship :)

zkenshin says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Great fun!

kibertoad says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Wish it was actually a game :). Nice audio!

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:13am

Can't play windows games... and this looks awesome... wish I could play :-(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]