Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Kill Kong - shaneshanekavanagh - Jam Entry

Goodtimes.

Play it! It's hard, so you've gotta be awesome to finish it, but when you it'll be worth it.

http://killkong.weebly.com/

View shaneshanekavanagh's journal. | View all entries by shaneshanekavanagh

Ratings

Coolness100%
#83Mood(Jam)3.26
#94Graphics(Jam)3.67
#115Overall(Jam)3.26
#119Innovation(Jam)3.09
#123Fun(Jam)3.03
#132Audio(Jam)3.06
#184Humor(Jam)2.46
#248Theme(Jam)2.79

Comments

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:19am

Great fun making this.

Quantumvm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:40am

Not sure if it was just my problem but king kong would not turn around. Overall great game though! It was very pretty to look at. I loved the color scheme you used.

Mase says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:50am

daaaaaah! got him down to 26. The controls felt good. Kong looked like a giant mutant panda.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:57am

Really nice style in the game's graphics. Set a really nice mood.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:38am

Loved it

arhpositive says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:39am

Pretty little game. Nice usage of the theme. Good entry overall. :)

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:53am

Love the art style! It would be nice if there was a button to accelerate a bit. But otherwise, well done!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:59am

Lovely :)

Prelucid says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:01pm

Game was kind of hard to play for me, but really cool idea. Tried it out more than a few times.

luke161 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:01pm

Awesome, great job!

RobKat says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:11pm

Cool idea, very difficult game but thats a good thing :)

stigmawall says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:11pm

Nice graphics, reminds me Lampião the Movie.
And it's not so hard, you just need a little patience.

rubna says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:27pm

This is great!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:40pm

An acceleration button would be nice :)
The plane is a bit slow...
Overall this is a lovely, be it a bit short, but fun game.
I like the graphical style :)

quill18 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:40pm

Excellent visual style, great sound design. I love the feel of flying the plane.

I'd love to see the gameplay rebalanced, because right now once you figure out the correct way to hit and run it because a bit boring to repeat over and over.

oborux says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:23pm

Awesome flying game, Kong takes some beating but I managed it...

Love the dramatic music and tension flying about the scene... great job :-)

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:27pm

Fun! I really liked the positional audio and art style. Very cool plane

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:15pm

Very nice aesthetic, and I liked the way the plane turning is handled.

I would have pegged Kong for the villain but what do I know?

Pitoum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:15pm

Love the art! So gorgeous!
But maybe a bit slow :) I would like to fly much faster!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:19pm

Colour scheme in this game looked really nice. The subtlty of the 3D was great. Controls were nice to use after a bit of use. Nice work!

lotusgame says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:21pm

Very good concept ! Nice 3D to 2D effect ! I really like. Too bad it was too short, i want more :)

Manest says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:27pm

Realy nice design. It's realy hard game

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:30pm

Beautiful art style; really set the mood of the game! A little difficult to maneuver the plane at first, but it was manageable. Great work!

kato9 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:08pm

Nice little game. I like the minimal color palette. I got him down to 2 and then died from crashing into a building. One thing though...I thought King Kong was the 'villain'?

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:13pm

He was just cruising around his island protecting his island, then he was taken to the city for our amusement. He's just a big softie. Ok, a really big softie.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:14pm

Cheers for all the compliments peeps! Much appreciated!

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:00pm

Great entry! I think it could be improved if the boundaries of the map were marked a bit more clearly. I was confused when the plane kept turning around automatically.

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:12pm

Good-blinking-stuff there, I liked the red moon rising/ apocalypse now colour palate.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:33pm

Love the style of it, really good job. Plane control and shooting could use some work but overall an interesting concept!

MichaelJLong says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:14am

Very nice, found it a bit difficult to begin with but very fun once you sink into it.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:52am

Nice music and mood. Kong should turn around or do something to maybe make it more challenging. There's really no risk to dying unless you get impatient of fly badly.

Floko says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:43am

nice music, pretty visuals... but the game was a bit easy, maybe kong could throw stuff or something like that, to increase the challenge. I just don`t get the theme, feels like kong is the villain.

Husky says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:26am

Fun and kick his ass!
And it's so nice to have a auto fire lol.

michax says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:23am

Nice mechanics and idea. Not sure if you are the villain in this but i guess that this monkey is city govern.
Great music and dramatic color scheeme :) Enjoyed it but didn't have balls to finish it.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:53am

Very nicely done. I love the colors and the semi-3D effect.

har_g says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:56pm

Noooooooooooo i die in the final action. 1Hp remaining.. stupid monkey.. Ok, super game, not sure that i'm the vilain but it was cool.

Faust says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:39pm

Cool entry, the art is very stylish.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:31pm

That was fun.. thanks for making it!

Rialgar says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:31pm

great entry, congratulations. Kong not turning around makes for a good "attack from behind" strategy, not sure if this is wanted:P

GreenPixelDev says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:42pm

Great job! Nice, smooth controls and a simple, well-defined goal - something that is missing from some other entries :D

blackmagic says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:57pm

funny and tricky :)

nitramgc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:30pm

The control of the plane is really great!

I love the aesthetic too.

The auto turn is clever.

It took me several tries to get to the end. One time, I was going to win, but then I decided to explore the sky... SURPRISE :)

namuol says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:48pm

Yeah man, I always hated those planes when I watched King Kong as a child. Poor King Kong. :[

Well done.

csanyk says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:49am

Boy is it hard not to die! Controls weren't difficult, but your turn radius is so large and your line of sight so small that it is really hard not to crash, by the time you see the obstacle it is too late to do anything.

I liked this, especially the graphics and the Kong laugh.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:38am

Really like the controls. Switching between left/right is intuitive.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:12am

Minimal visual style for maximum effectiveness, check. Good mood because of smooth animations and proper setting. A big ape. What more does one need?

Btw, by going fullscreen in the web player, my fire rate about quintupled allowing me to mow Kong down in 2 passes.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:24pm

Difficult!... but very cool, nice atmosphere and graphics.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:49pm

great game!!
Pretty funy noises the king kong makes :3

overall great entry !!

Flai says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:20pm

I liked it a lot. Controls were a bit hard though

johndb says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:26am

Very well done!

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:55am

Very good art style and audio. Greates the nice mood. Kong could move more. My game also includes Kong ;).

cappelnord says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:01pm

I think it wasn't hard at all, but fun!

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:55pm

Good gameeee loved it ^^

illugion says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:27am

Really loved the art style and the smoothness of the plane's control, really cool game :D

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:45pm

This is the best use of unity I've seen yet. You've used it for a purpose rather than just "whey-hey 3D". The style of the game is great and I like the idea.

Gameplay wise, it's a little tedious and easy. I'd love to see what you would do with it with more time.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:53pm

The sound effect when you die is hilarious. It was pretty fun, although a little difficult and took me a few tries to get anywhere. It'd be nice if he could turn around and face you while you're shooting him from behind. Great work!

Mesene says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:46pm

Awesome color scheme and dinamyc menu, I enjoyed it a lot :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:33pm

nice!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:39pm

Very pretty, and I liked the controls. Too hard, though.

Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:48am

Fun game! Reminded me of the bonus sections in Area 88 on the SNES a littile bit. Sound effects, music and nice limited palette graphical style all add up to a stylish looking and playing game. I'd like to have had more pressure on me in the form of a fuel meter / limited ammo though to ramp up the difficulty mind.

Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:33pm

I liked the graphical style and music! The plane controls were great, but the Kong appearently does nothing but stands still and waves his arms, perhaps he could have moved around or thrown stuff at you to make it bit more challenging?

ddionisio says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:52am

Really awesome! I love the art-style, it's like playing in a stylized old fashion movie poster! Also love how the music changes as you approach Kong. The controls play really well. It wasn't really that hard when you figure out that you can just go from behind and do a slow attack, rinse and repeat. Would benefit from different attack patterns. Overall, great game!

Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Gonna start writing this stuff down. Most of them are things I threw out because of time, but the comments are showing stuff I've never thought of. Thanks to everyone for the kind words too!

leafo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:29am

I really like the art style! It looks cool. I like the controls, but because he just stands still you can just repeat the same back and forth motion to kill him :(

ilo says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:04am

Love the controls - simple and satisfying. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]