Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Feline Homicide - OU GDA - Jam Entry

Lawrence Krume was a man who didn't take half measures.
Perfect attendance. Exemplary work. Never took a sick day. Lawrence did everything as well as he could.

"Listen, Lawrence. This isn't easy for me. Your work is first rate, and you seem like a nice guy, but you know
how it is. Cutbacks, and so on. As of 5 o'clock today, you need to be out of here."

Lawerence sat in his cubicle, pencil in one hand. Tap-tap-tap-tap. Pencil against paper.

Lawrence couldn't drive home. He couldn't face the ramshackle apartment, the one-bedroom
hellhole he couldn't even afford anymore. He needed an answer. A burlap bag on the side of the road.
A head popped out. He saw the answer in its beady eyes.

He pulled up to the lake. Well, more like a pond. Bag in one hand, he got out and closed the door
carefully behind him. Walked up to the shore. Stuck his hand in the bag. Pulled out a cat. Threw it in.
That feels good.

Confused, the cat swam toward shore. Toward Lawrence. Stupid cat. Lawrence walked forward
and kicked it back in. He threw in another cat. Still feels good.

Lawrence knew why he was here. Lawrence would keep doing what felt good
until he didn't feel anything anymore.



Goal:
Reduce the pond's beauty (the score) while keeping your pleasure (left side gauge) above zero.

Throwing cats increases your pleasure, but the thrill is less every time.
If a cat escapes, Lawrence gets stressed.

You can keep the cats at bay by kicking them.
Cats drown if they spend too long in the water.

Controls:
'wasd' or arrows to move
left ctrl or left click to throw
space to kick

View OU GDA's journal. | View all entries by OU GDA

Ratings

Coolness75%
#58Humor(Jam)3.25
#81Mood(Jam)3.28
#97Audio(Jam)3.22
#102Graphics(Jam)3.59
#132Theme(Jam)3.46
#181Innovation(Jam)2.77
#191Overall(Jam)2.89
#206Fun(Jam)2.62

Comments

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:25am

Man what did cats ever do to you. Very funny game, almost seems like something I would play on a phone

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:32am

Very funny gameplay

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:35am

Haha unique game idea to say the least. Really enjoyed the art style. Not quite sure what the cats did, but I'm sure they deserved it.

Team Tibbles says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58am

Lol what's up with the cats! I sense a dog lover! By the way, loved the game!

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:00am

Nice visual style!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:35am

Beautiful looking and, at the very least, interesting game. I was laughing by the time I was done reading the game's description. Excellent work!

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:09am

Dang...Must not like cats...Amazing graphics though

ParaPup says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:45am

This made me laugh so hard >_<

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:28pm

Pretty good !

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:31pm

I think it would be super interesting a series of minigames like that! Cool! Too short tho :(

joaorequiao says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:03pm

Hahahaha nice gameplay!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:15pm

MORE CATS

AumaanSnake says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:42am

Funny theme, nice mechanic and very good artwork!!

HeyChinaski says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Looks great, not sure I understood the gameplay though. I didn't last longer than maybe 10 seconds each time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]