Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Sealed Evil - Neonlare - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It has been quite a long time. A very long time even, since you, a primordial force of Evil and Chaos in the Universe, was sealed up in a cylindrical device roughly 2.5 inches in diameter. After a great amount of time drifting and plotting your revenge, you finally find a world suited to your more sinister desires. Break the Seal, and Break the World. One Stomp at a time.

Controls - WASD or Arrow Keys to Move. Mouse to move your cursor about and click to select upgrades and maps. Simple as that!

View Neonlare's journal. | View all entries by Neonlare

Ratings

Coolness100%
#19Audio3.78
#22Overall3.94
#31Humor3.77
#32Graphics4.18
#43Theme4.02
#47Mood3.64
#66Fun3.56
#66Innovation3.71

Comments

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:37am

Enjoyed it a lot. The controls were a bit hard, though. I could only get one or two souls per level.

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:37am

Also, Web version doesn't work.

gigimoi00 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:54pm

My favorite game so far.

Fireblend says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:43pm

It's a shame that people won't get far into this game just because of the first level. You should have had more victims there, because getting 1-2 victims per level is pretty discouraging when you know you need 20 and people will give up on that quickly. The mall is full of them, and once you reach it the fun really begins. Too bad people will most probably miss it. Great game, great music, great style. Probably one of my favorites. My best rated game so far.

Norgg says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55pm

Aww, really nice! Seems a little slow to get going having to repeat the same level like 10 times to get the first upgrade, but after that it gets awesome. Was playing this for a while but had to stop before I got to see what the seals upgrade track unlocks, sad that progress isn't saved.

It's really cool the number of unique levels you've packed into this, each with its own soundtrack.

cardboard says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:52pm

That was a lot of fun. The controls started out difficult, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. After I upgraded to get more people and two souls per kill I quickly got everything else (at the mall), but it took awhile to get to that point. The music is nice and the game is very polished.

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:40am

This is one heck of a game! You perfectly catched that "just one more round" factor :D

derdragon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:50am

Definitely the bloodiest game I've played of these so far. Particularly liked the trail you leave after squashing someone on the next few hops. I'll admit, soda was not the first thing that came to mind when the theme was announced, but bravo for such a villainous interpretation of a soft drink.

vrav says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:42pm

Nice game with a ton of content. Very grindy, but it ramps up later. I found the most effective strategy was saving money so there are more assailants on screen, getting more souls in just a few bounces and then dying, without wasting time chasing single souls. Ha.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:55pm

Best game I have played so far. Amazing graphics, especially for compo! The beginning is a little grindy, it took ages to get the 20 souls I needed.

csanyk says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:19am

I can't believe I played this all the way through to completion.

madpew says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:29pm

Solid game. A little inbalanced and a really slow start. the intro is way too long (and silent wich makes it appear even longer) Gameplay is nice but the beginning is far too slow. after the first upgrades it gets better. Good job on the art and it's an creative entry indeed. well done.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:55am

A very good game, I loved the concept. It just took FAR too long, especially at the beginning.

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:16pm

Okay, this one is probably insider's tip of the competition - because of the high entry barrier, and the gem that follows if you have the patience to cross it!

Cons:
- VERY slow and grindy start. The first level is incredibly frustrating.
- I am not sure if it's intended that the game becomes easier the more souls you have. You get shot easily, but you can just as easily restart - and all the new enemies make formidable targets until you are killed. Soul collecting was never easier.
- The wall. THE GODDAMN WALL.
- And even worse, the wrapping screen without seemless wrapping. People run out and are seemingly gone. It took me a while to even figure out it wraps!
- I was kinda disappointed when I undid the first seals and I didn't transform at all ingame. I would've loved having a different appearence!
- I don't have the slightest idea what exorcists do? They are the black ones, right?

Pros:
- The slow start makes you feel all the mightier later! It's an acquired taste though: I don't know how many will go through with that, there are so many games to play.
- 10 maps with different tilesets, music and people? Wow.
- 20 power-ups.
- And INCREDIBLE amount of polish. Did you really do all that in 48 hours? It's so hard to believe!
- A cutscene. (Without music :( ) And end-scene, even though that one was kinda short.
- Humor! :D

Out of all the games I have played so far, this is easily the best. I urge you to rate more games to get more spotlight yourself! It's such a pity that a gem like this has only 15 ratings.

PS: What the heck is that? http://puu.sh/1DXHM
It happens once you beat the game and restart it.

Udrian says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:06am

Very funny little game, really liked the graphics. This one is by far the one I played the longest so far!

Pitoum says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:26am

Really really really cool game!
Probably the one I spent most time!
Love these mechanics, love the difficulty, love the art!
AWESOME!

vrld says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:15pm

The best game I played so far! A bit slow at the beginning and ending, but the in between is so much fun!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:39pm

Echoing common feedback - the initial progression is way too slow. It's so much fun to squash em, but it's so hard to do it reliably. This frustration is further increased due to most levels are too open with too few targets. The fixed jumping distance also made it harder, as you're constantly leaping over intended targets. I stuck with it though, since the overall quality demonstrated it'd be worth it. It was, eventually!

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:44pm

I absolutely loved this, but as I was getting some of the final upgrades, the Exploding Corpses upgrade caused the framerate to plummet to unplayable levels. I had to abandon the game entirely, so close to the end, which was disappointing.

Other than that, this was awesome. Easily one of my favorite games so far. I loved how the control upgrades felt. You could immediately tell that those were worth it, and stomping around with great precision was rewarding.

ceronman says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:21pm

Nice game. It's really fun to smash those people. Controls are a bit frustrating though. Nice graphics and music.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:00pm

Good, but the beginng requires way too much grindng.

ix says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:19am

Really nice art style. This one kept me playing for a while.

Maple says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:59am

Amazing entry, 5/5, but not without flaws (this in itself is enough of a compliment from me to now be able to focus mainly on your game's flaws). I couldn't actually stop playing until I unlocked everything, after which some weird scorpion came out of the coke can, and trying to play the game again (without reopening the file) would get stuck on the level select / shop screen (before it actually loaded. My main complaint, is that it's a pretty slow start. Takes ages to get 20 souls. I would have made the early upgrades cheaper. Also, visually what you had going on was pretty good, but on most of the levels, the ground had too much contrast and conflicted with actual walls and objects, making the screen look a little cluttered. My favourite looking stage was the Gym, but it would have been one of the others if the ground had colours that were less contrasting of each other. Oh also, I didn't really get what the seal breakers did, other than eat up my souls. But yeah. I would buy a refined version of this for $1 (:p), if that means anything. Good job.

Maple says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:04am

Just taking a look through your comments, and you can add what Tobias Wehrum said to my thoughts. :)

Jeremias says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:12pm

Best game I played so far. I played through all levels and unlocks. Can't say anything negative which wasn't already said. Slow start is the main point, but playing through the skills is so addictive.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:20am

definitely a great game, very fun to play once it gets going

Spelchan says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:34am

Very well done game. Found the difficulty way too high. Thankfully I read the comments so gave it another go to see what the fuss was about. Once you collect enough souls to start unlocking other areas and extra powers it becomes a bit more enjoyable. While I am not a big fan of pixel art, it was pretty much a requirement in order to get all the levels and intro and win sequence into the game. Very impressive getting all this done in 48 hours!

Beerman says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:31pm

Slightly too grindy, especially at the start, but there's something really compelling about squishing those little victim dudes that kept me playing to the end.

garygreen says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:38pm

Ha! Great idea and those graphics are great. I found it tricky to get the souls though, but it was fun trying.

theGiallo says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:50am

This game is great!

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:28pm

I'm sorry, but I quit when I finally collected 10 souls in level 1 with the annoyingly quick fleeing victims and saw that I had to get 10 more just to get a single update or the next level.

The intro and graphics and sound are all very promising and well done and then the game part is, well, not fun. If you can make a post-compo version with a fixed 1st level or altered upgrade path I will gladly try again because based on the early part you clearly know how to design things.

Neonlare says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 12:56am

Thanks for all the feedback guys! Glad to see the majority of folks enjoyed the game~ The start does feel a little slow but it's definitely worth spending some more time on to check the upgrades.

Hint for Zenmumbler: NPCs will run faster from you the longer you chase them, that's the game mechanic. Sneak up on NPCs or corner them into walls to prevent them from escaping so easy. The later levels have a fair few more characters. Seems like you're the only one who had a rough time with the game, sorry about that :/.

dcolgan says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 3:06am

This is the best game I've played this ludum dare. The core gameplay mechanic is very satisfying, especially in the later stages of the upgrade process. I'm very impressed that there is a different song for every level. The graphics are awesome, very funny, and it is the best use of the theme I've seen yet. This game made me feel the most villainous of any game I've played, and it was a giant bouncing coke can. Awesome!

Jan 3, 2013 @ 6:58am

I liked the idea and the art but it was too hard to get into and too hard to stomp on people. I got to about 10 people and noticed I needed 20 or more to start upgrades and stopped, sorry. I think there could be something here but I'd recommend a faster start, and make the people run / react slower so they are easier to collect. I'm not really sure why the counter per level was so fast. The first 3-4 times the shop screen popped up, I thought it was a bug.

Mago says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:02am

Absolutely great entry. One of the best games I played so far. Its amazing how complete this game is.

dark_hunter says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:14am

Very addictive! A bit hard through at the start. Nice music and graphics!

Amos Wenger says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Almost a perfect rating from me!

Played all the way through - had to begin again because at some point I mistakenly hit 'Esc' and it quit, losing my game :(

The initial progression is a bit slow, but then it all depends on your upgrade choices. There's real strategy in there!

Lots of polish, loved the music, loved the sfx, loved the graphics.

What else is there to say? See you next LD!

Datw says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:16am

Game looked and sounded great, but it could have a better gameplay IMO.

leafo says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:02am

Really great graphics, music, and gameplay. Same problem as everyone else, too much grinding in the beginning. I didn't end up unlocking all of the levels but it seemed like the mall was the best unless I was missing something. Great job.

Volute says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Very fun ! Great graphics. Those little humans are very hard to crush.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:31am

Whoa, really impressive stuff. And it's NOT a jam game? Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]