December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Evil-01: Missile Assault Vessel

by Stryphe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Evil-01: Missile Assault Vessel you are attacking a planet to claim what remains as your own.

On a side note his is my first Ludum Dare and any feedback would be appreciated.

Thank you for considering playing my game.


***Update***
Please Note the game does not play well on Android, IOS or IE8.

the cities are not actually destroyed till they graphic is gone. When it's just Smoke the city is not destroyed yet so keep firing. Obviously I should find a better graphic designer to address this short coming...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#295Audio2.62
#572Theme2.70
#603Fun2.30
#646Humor1.71
#701Mood1.94
#728Overall2.15
#734Graphics1.70
#744Innovation1.75
#884Coolness37%

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:14am

Those sounds make me feel like a badass

lotusgame says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:41am

Music : +1
HTML5 : +1 :)

Need better game control on the rockets and some lvls (unless i failed to find them ?)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:25am

This was a bit different, I enjoyed it though.

Pent says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:12pm

I couldn't get the controls to really work..

Pope PAF says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:40pm

I wasn't able to read the text on the buttons...
Also the anemys were flying in the air!

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:55am

I like the hand-drawn graphics, there is just one level and the things keep firing once they're dead?

It's a good first effort - it takes a couple of goes before you're able to push a complete game

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:33pm

Love the sounds. Is there a way to dodge the incoming projectiles?

Stryphe says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:51pm

Sorry I didn't have the time to add controls for movement as I only had about 12 actual hours to work on the game. I will probably refine it a bit more when I get more time.

Wuhao says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:14am

I had fun! Why are some rockets fly at snail pace?

Stryphe says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:15am

I put in a game mechanic that varies the speed of the missile based on how far you dragged the mouse while holding down the left mouse button. Holding down the left mouse button also increases the power of the missiles as well. I didn't have time to tweak this though to a noticeable effect and left it some what broken since the more cities there the less likely 1 missile will get through and "quantity" ends up trumping "quality."

TDRGames says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:09am

Not bad at all, especially for only 1 day's work. Sound, music, html5 FTW!

bugninja says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:56pm

I agree that the sounds take this game to a new level. I didn't like how my bullets didn't seem to actually hit the city tho. But it was a good twist on a classic.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]