December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Postal

by Sim - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD entry. Cause enough damage in the postal depot to move onto the next round. The levels repeat but the game gets harder each time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#338Graphics3.00
#426Overall2.86
#461Humor2.24
#468Innovation2.64
#526Mood2.47
#529Fun2.50
#532Theme2.82
#817Coolness42%

Comments

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:06pm

Rather repetitive and a little basic, but great graphics!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:52pm

simple idea, but spent great time pleaying it!
my screen height is not enough to fit game and also sound and music is not working

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:57pm

Good twist on the theme :)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:01pm

My hand cramped up while attempting level one. Make the difficulty curve a but less steep. Not sure if I could change weapons or if it did anything.

Markavian says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:13pm

Addictive, and well presented, but let down by a lack of particles blasting away everywhere! Needed gun shot feedback, shotgun splats, and a rocket blast circle...

heloheu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:33am

Nice game, I only miss some feedback on the boxes, in the beginning I thought my shots weren't working

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:10am

Interesting take on the theme! The hit detection was a bit off since you had to hit the arrow to actually get the points. Could be really fun with more updates.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:25pm

Repetitive but fun

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:07pm

Interesting take on the theme. I feel it could have had feedback regarding whether you hit an object or not. Before I realized some objects take more hits than others, I felt it wasn't registering my clicks.

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:10am

It was fun, but could've used some feedback when I hit the crates with different weapons (like particles, bullet holes, etc.).
Also, some sound effects would've been nice.
But not bad for your first attempt.

Maple says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:48pm

Pretty good for a first LD. But damn it, my hand is so sore now! My screen is a tad too small to fit the games height. Perhaps a full screen option would have been nice. Also, I could never figure out how to change my gun. Also, it would have been really nice to indicate that I had shot the box -- I figured it out pretty quick, but, after shooting the small blue thing, and then trying to shoot the big brown box I wondered if they weren't shootable, and I thought the crates were unbreakable for the first couple of levels, so, perhaps an indication that they got damaged would be nice. Anyhow, nice entry.

Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:52pm

Nice idea for the theme, the game could have used sound or at least particle effects, or something to show which weapon you are using, and the items could have had better click detection.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]