Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Evil Reveal

by OxyOxspring - Jam Entry

So this is my first Ludum Dare entry. I hope you all enjoy playing it!

The inspiration for this game came from this Mitchell and Webb sketch about an evil super villain revealing his plans for world domination to a board of company investors:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgX6JFoV0TM&feature=youtu.be&t=5m2s

You play the evil genius running the presentation... of course the people at the table will eventually become terrified of your insanely criminal plans and they try to run away.

You have to kill and maim them before they get away to tell the police. But be wary... the longer they stay at the table, the more time you have to siphon valuable money from their accounts!

(I was originally doing this for the 48 Hour Compo, but due to the use of non-original sound effects I've moved over to the jam!)

Yeah the plant pots are really OP, I'm afraid I didn't have time to balance them properly before I submitted my final version! Sorry guys!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Theme(Jam)4.11
#35Humor(Jam)3.50
#44Innovation(Jam)3.53
#62Mood(Jam)3.39
#78Overall(Jam)3.42
#104Fun(Jam)3.11
#177Graphics(Jam)3.11
#185Audio(Jam)2.63
#831Coolness41%

Comments

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:31am

Great idea!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:20pm

This was really nice, I like the work you have created.

OxyOxspring says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:11pm

Thanks for the comments guys! Really appreciate the feedback!

Clavus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Funny take on the theme. Not that difficult to figure out the winning strategy.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Haha, nice idea, and very well implemented! Nice graphics. Though a little more room space would be nice.

(and extra points for picking one of my favourite Mitchell & Webb scenes. I also like the health & safety version where's he's getting the builder to put in his rotating wall :D )

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:50pm

Can't play on windows :-(

Xgor says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:54pm

I like the idea... There is a fatal flaw with the game play, plants are really OP because if you sell them and place them out again the mood increases and it doesn't cost that much thus taking away any strategy and depth in the game

OxyOxspring says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:00pm

Yeah unfortunately I didn't have chance to really balance the game as I came over with flu.

master4523 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:02pm

Definitly one of my fav game, really fun

BrothersT says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:11pm

I really like the idea and the huge map of the world table. The plants cheat was instantly obvious as others have said. A lot of potential though.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:37pm

Its really nice.

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:37am

@OxyOxspring: Is it possible to get Web/Mac build?

Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:20pm

hahahahah cool idea! :D Nice work :D

OxyOxspring says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:31pm

@youdonotexist: Sadly not as of the moment... Sorry!

Zathalos says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:56am

Amazing game. If the plant pots weren't OP it would awesome.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:12pm

Nice idea.

goerp says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 3:17pm

Wow, pretty impressive. Original idea (well not totally original of course, but to make it into a game is very well done).
I think it is a bit weird that you can't use soundeffect for the compo, but can use samples.
I think you would have been allright. Or maybe you could have done the sound effects by yourself (I think its fun to do that).

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Was fun to play and design the traps, but as you already said, there is some balancing respective the room costs needed. You can publish XNA games on a game jam without forcing the testers to install it as an application. I wrote a tutorial about that: http://www.stevencolling.com/index.php#howto_publish_xna_gamejam

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]