Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Enforcer - LevelUp - Jam Entry

Enforcer is an action-platformer with 3D graphics and 2D gameplay where the player controls "The Enforcer", a super hero gifted with incrediblle strenght and far-from-average clumsiness.
In the game, he will try to stop super villains such as "THE JAYWALKER". By doing so, he will go through the level dodging obstacles, and destroy the city because of his strenght. Each time he jumps on a building, touches a car, or hits someone, he will cause death and desolation without even knowing it.

Each level starts with the police alert concerning the level's villain, including his description and characteristics. Then the player has to finish the level in a given time before the villain escape, finds him, and arrest him (by touching him). During the level, some of the destroyed objects will have a cost and/or a casualty number attached to it (it increments the total cost and casualties scores that will be displayed at the end of the game (whether it's a win or a game over). They also have a string attached to them that will be displayed in a fake news feed at the bottom of the screen during the game.

The overall scene is displayed as if it was filmed by a news channel helicopter. We can also see comments from random citizen, who never loose faith in their hero even if he kills and destroy everything.

View LevelUp's journal. | View all entries by LevelUp

Ratings

#48Fun(Jam)3.44
#49Humor(Jam)3.36
#80Mood(Jam)3.29
#80Overall(Jam)3.41
#85Theme(Jam)3.65
#86Graphics(Jam)3.71
#91Innovation(Jam)3.24
#130Audio(Jam)3.07
#912Coolness35%

Comments

nate427 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:01pm

Loved it, really fun and fits the theme really well.

BinxBurger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:11pm

The whole "clumsy superhero" thing is an awesome interpretation of the theme, and I really like how you applied it to the gameplay.

fhoenig says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:25pm

I really like the character and his animation.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:06am

Good graphics and interesting gameplay!

monomanio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:08pm

That was pretty cool! The feeling of power was just amazing. Very nice visuals as well.

Jiddo says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:31pm

Hehe, pretty funny gameplay. Tho is it just me or doesn't Space+Down do anything? :S

This looks really good for being a 3D entry and the sounds were really nice as well. Controls were fine too even tho the cooldown between the actions you could do was kind of awkward at times.

I really missed an end screen or something tho. Just throwing you back to the main menu is kind of boring, especially since there is a scoring system and stuff. That should be presented on a screen when you finish the game.

One sad thing is that it was too easy (and too tempting) to just play through it too quickly to read the various news messages and target description messages before just going berserk.

Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:04pm

This is awesome.

dray says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:50pm

good graphics and the theme is well used, well done

angrygeometry says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:05pm

jeez, you guys got so much done! this plays great. i really liked the ending, running around in a void.. but the game was good!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]