December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

I Hate Christmas

by leothecool - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first time using GameMaker, so I tried to keep the scope small. I hope everyone hates the holidays as much as I do. I know the hit detection is a little janky, but it would be too easy if it wasnt.

(+goat)

Tools:
GameMaker Standard
LMMS
Audacity
Paint.NET

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Humor3.52
#178Theme3.63
#206Fun3.17
#210Audio2.91
#326Mood2.85
#464Graphics2.71
#474Overall2.79
#637Innovation2.26
#711Coolness47%

Comments

dcolgan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:38am

A fun little game! I like how you snuck the goat in there. Always fun to punch goats. Is it possible to get everything? I had one piece of sock left when the time ran out. Is there a special ending?

jfroco says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:28am

Fun.If would be great to generate levels randomly... but I know you only had 48h. Congrats.

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34am

Silly. Nice work getting the holiday spirit in.

surpy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:40am

It's fun, I couldn't finish it also, at first I thought it was something a little more interesting when it said "can you ruin christmas" but this was good too.

Hume says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:21am

I was tentative at first, but when the music changed I knew I was going to have a good 48 seconds.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:15am

Reminded me of those Street Fighter II car bashings... The main character should have the ability to use hadoken XDDD

LucaPavone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:09am

Very silly - especially once the rock and roll kicked in!

BinxBurger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:09pm

Aww, that poor goat... I like where you went with the theme. It made me feel evil and I liked it!

Spelchan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:40am

Simple, but the goat made it fun.

Cyboot says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:41pm

hehe fun game. Merry christmas :D

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:04pm

Music is repetitive, but not annoyingly so. Sounds effects would make it better, but the game is fun. Quick, to the point and fun.
The crying horse/cow is sublime.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]