December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Licence to play

by Tavrox - Jam Entry

The player is a violent video game. He tries to contaminate children with the virus of violent video games. But the institutes of SERB & PIG won't leave him alone !

-> Spread the virus of violent video gaming.
- Avoid being caught by SERB & PIG.
- Infect shops and hospitals to spread chaos and madness !
- Survive the longest time possible to score high.

We were 8 student in video games and had a lot of fun doing our first one ! The craziness of these 3 days can be seen in the assets i think :p

This game was made to be ironic, we hope you'll have as much pleasure playing it as we had creating it !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Humor(Jam)3.13
#91Theme(Jam)3.63
#127Audio(Jam)3.08
#219Fun(Jam)2.56
#228Overall(Jam)2.76
#232Innovation(Jam)2.56
#254Mood(Jam)2.43
#257Graphics(Jam)2.50
#948Coolness32%

Comments

laaph says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:16am

No sound?

Joncom says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:32am

Loved the graphics and the fact that you made a preloader, an intro, and a very helpful how-to section!

Tavrox says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:44pm

@laaph : There are sounds :)

blackmagic says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:44pm

Like it :)

Wan & Manu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:49pm

The idea is funny, the graphics are a bit inconsistent but overall quite well done!

Now I found it a bit hard to understand how the game works, even with the tutorial (props for making one though) ; by mashing 'space' against everything I crossed I eventually got it, once I got there it's quite an original game!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:04pm

This is a really funny (and good) idea. I appreciate the irony; The game is fun to play, and the music/sounds clearly help to feel involved!
It took my 5 times to finish the 3 achievement, and I must say I've been a bit disapointed to see there wasn't any ending screen after that, so I just let me die (what was the point to go on ? My score wasn't even recorded)
That would be my main criticism.

Also, the heart system seems a bit glitchy, sometimes, my hearts just disapeared (not red, not yellow, not empty : nothing), that was a bit disturbing to no know for sure how much I had left.

heloheu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:18pm

Funny concept xD It took very long to load here, I wish all the graphics were like the intro

heloheu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:25pm

Ah, I'm sorry, I think it was my internet, I cleared the cache, tried again and now the loading time is ok >.<

Nyarly says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:25am

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/16/licence-to-play-video-games-kill-grannies/comment-page-1/#comment-88749

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:46am

nice solid little game here, good work. Why did they turn into green bears? I liked it that they did.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:49am

Fun concept to play along with and the music sets an interesting backdrop to the theme. Well done.

Yakka says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:49pm

Good intro and music! I take a little time to understand the gameplay.

zkenshin says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Cute little concept, well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]