Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

It Came From the 25th Dimension - Somfunambulist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Alien conquest themed breakout game with a few interesting diversions from the formula.

Update: Added a windows 8 version, wherein I removed all the sound, which apparently caused the game to crash on windows 8.

Update: Fixed a bug where the ball would get stuck in the floor.

View Somfunambulist's journal. | View all entries by Somfunambulist

Ratings

Coolness63%
#24Graphics4.24
#52Fun3.64
#73Theme3.91
#107Overall3.52
#170Mood3.19
#194Audio2.94
#194Humor3.04
#247Innovation3.12

Comments

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:22am

Quite clever.

TheCze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:28am

Great game!

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:46am

Great idea and execution! I really like the art and the added features. Could have been a little harder and the ball got stuck on the fourth (last?) level - it hit the bottom corner of a building and the floor and wouldn't move - but overall really good! :)

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:54am

Really nice combination of the Theme with a "classic" mechanics! The twist to the Arkanoid is really good. Assets, like graphics and sounds are really good and cohesioned.

teh_eria says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:51am

Great job taking some classic mechanics and fitting them into the feel of the game. Gets a little tedious when there are so few buildings left, but really well done. One of the best I've played so far!

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:04am

The graphic is excellent.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:46am

Took me awhile to figure out that I had to rebound the giant boulders. But once I starting doing that it was like a big nice revelation. Mass destruction ensued.

Saisaith says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:13am

Love your game man! Hey I fixed mine up if you can take another look at it!

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:28am

This game is excellent for the theme, super well executed, well balanced, art is very intricate and intresting. Kudos!

dvdking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:21pm

The game seems to be pretty good.
Bad thing game maker has bug with sounds when using win8, game just crashes when there are to many sounds play on the same time.

Though, all I saw was very good.

Ramuh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:26pm

Nice Graphics!

impulse9 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:27pm

Lovely graphics!

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:27am

Nice artwork!

tompudding says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:51am

Very enjoyable! It is a bit slow when there's only one building left, but probably the most fun game I've tried so far, good job

krutech says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Lovely, "this goes to the i have to remember this guy" list
Art and execution was simply great.

schnerble says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:48pm

Nice work! Good subtlety in the controls, and nicely put together. The sound effects fit well too. It does have that takes-forever-to-finish-a-level thing common to all breakout games, but that's a peril of the genre.

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:25pm

I enjoyed the take on the Breakout game!

What would have made this perfect, though, was tossing in a little Rampage, ie: The buildings fell down after you did enough damage to them. This would have avoided the tedium that's already been mentioned about having just one or two oddly placed "blocks" left.

CappaGames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:41am

Nice art.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:00am

Very pretty and surprisingly fun!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:02pm

There's not many games that have me shouting "hit the ambulance! hit the ambulance!" ;-D

Great graphics and cool Arkanoid gameplay! I would liked to have been able to control the UFO with the mouse, but aside from that, perfect!

joyboxed says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:42pm

tooked me some time to figure out how to play it but the mechanics are really cool

Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:57pm

Nice game.

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Wonderful looking game with a fresh take on the theme and very solid gameplay. One of my favorites from LD25! Make a kickass song and it'll be even more rad.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]