Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Lord Evil's Daring Escape - Cryovat - Jam Entry

This game is an epic story about an evil lord trying to escape the forces of justice. Unfortunately, all his mechanized death traps are standing between him and the rocketship to freedom.

This was originally intended for the 48 hour compo, but slipped as it turned out to be a bit more work than anticipated. If people like it, it might become a "real" game in the future. :-)

While there are no actual goats in the game, there might be some in the main character's lineage.

Controls:
* Arrows: Menu navigation and movement
* Z: Action/jump

How to play:
* Install Love2D from here: https://love2d.org/
* Double click .love file
* Have fun :D

Tools used:
* Love2D as game engine
* Emacs for making love
* Base code in terms of menu, tilemap drawing and sprite animation (declared beforehand)
* Grafx2 for drawing graphics
* Sfxr for making sounds

Source code:
* https://github.com/cryovat/ludum-dare-25 (BSD)

Blog posts:
* http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/14/another-player-joins-the-fray/ (announcement)
* http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/16/game-jam-for-the-vat/
* http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/17/lord-evils-daring-escape/ (release)

View Cryovat's journal. | View all entries by Cryovat

Ratings

#62Graphics(Jam)3.95
#111Theme(Jam)3.53
#115Humor(Jam)2.88
#138Mood(Jam)2.93
#163Overall(Jam)3.00
#169Fun(Jam)2.79
#210Audio(Jam)2.42
#308Innovation(Jam)1.95
#670Coolness49%

Comments

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:22am

Such a tiny lovely adventure, haha. I quite enjoyed it despite its brevity. Loved the graphics and the retro sound fx. Jumps felt a little odd (almost no gravity) but you get used to it.
I would love to see this game extended!

cardboard says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:21am

Fun game and I really like the graphics and tinyness of everything. It is really short, but I still enjoyed it and felt a sense of accomplishment when I won :)

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:35pm

Fly above all the things!! :) Great pixel art.

bushmango says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:10pm

Pretty, quick to play, short, LOVE IT!

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:29pm

Fly everything. I'm not sure if that works as intended or not :|


Despite that I loved the little adventure

Kuulog says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:29pm

Funny little game, I'd love to see a post-compo version of this.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:36pm

Doesn't work well here on Ubuntu 12.04... I installed Lua 5.1, made the .love package executable and started it. Arrows up and down worked, but not enter or any other key, except with a huge delay (>1 min). Pressing 'z' after that crashed the game.

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:47pm

Cool graphics, nice gameplay.. but why am I forced to play it in such a small window? I tried but I could not find any option to scale it :/

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:25am

Love the art style; too bad there not much to the game.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:57am

I can fly! and it is too bad you didn't have more scenes

wzl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:16am

Cute little platformer. Would be nice to have more mechanics in the game, it is after all an evil lords death lair.
Sweet arts :D

review: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#Cryovat :D

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Like a few other folks here said, the movement, especially the jumping, feels a lot slower than it could be.

Good game, though! I really enjoyed the humor in the jumping hazards.

Jiddo says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:47am

Yeah, that's a very short game, but the graphics are just amazing. I just love the art style. Using Z to jump and accept stuff instead of for example Space was a bit awkward tho. Also, the jumping physics were a bit too slow.

The game seems to require Löve 0.8.0 to run. The version I originally had (2.7.2) gave me an error saying:
[string "fw/graphics/TileMap.lua"]:37: attempt to call method 'bind' (a nil value)

Also, the screen was very small. I would have preferred if it was upscaled by a factor 2.

Great work!

krutech says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:10pm

I like the old school graphics and how you used NPC's in a way, maling them platforming obstacles. A bit on the easy side and would have loved to see the graphics in full screen. Good job =)

leafo says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:16am

Great graphics, would have enjoyed a 2x zoom mode. Anyway, cool game. It's a shame it's so short. Looked like you had a lot planned.

tompudding says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:16pm

As others have said, the graphics are beautiful. I would have loved a way to increase the size of the window though.

Cryovat says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Thank you to everybody for the nice feedback. :)

@DiningPhilosopher: I'm sorry, I wasn't able to reproduce the error. I don't have any bright ideas as to what might be wrong. :(

To the ones who complained about size; I will keep working on this, and I can promise you that the more proper versions will be upscaled. I've experienced slowdowns on 12.10 after starting it over dozens and dozens of times, but never been able to pinpoint why.

The flying is due to wonky platforming code, it's unable to distinguish between standing on ground and falling. Suffice to say, it's scheduled for a rewrite.

Again, thank you for playing and for all the kind words. :)

impulse9 says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:27am

A bit buggy (I got stuck in the platform when I first started the game, and you can jump mid-air), but very fun nevertheless. And lovely graphics. I missed a scaled-up or fullscreen mode.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]