About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 1 hour, 33 minutes, 38 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 1 hour, 45 minutes, 38 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 2 hours, 33 minutes, 38 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    SpaceGreed - lotusgame - Jam Entry

    Space shooter game with a "community" approach.

    The game has a 2 sided approach :
    - attack
    - defense

    What has been used to create this game :

    Client :
    - FlashDevelop (as3)
    - Starling API
    - Starling Particule Extension
    - Feather
    - AS3 CoreLIB

    3D :
    - http://ship.shapewright.com/
    - Blender

    Server :
    - Apache 2
    - PHP 5.3.9
    - MySQL 5
    - Bcrypt class

    Update :
    We corrected 2 very very small typos in the flash code after the submit date :
    - translated a word from french to english (infos => help)
    - corrected a stupid tiny bug that allowed people to skip the level without getting hit at all.

    View lotusgame's journal. | View all entries by lotusgame

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #44Innovation(Jam)3.53
    #129Overall(Jam)3.17
    #131Graphics(Jam)3.40
    #168Fun(Jam)2.81
    #220Audio(Jam)2.25
    #228Mood(Jam)2.57
    #250Humor(Jam)2.00
    #280Theme(Jam)2.47

    Comments

    chambers says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:24am

    I really liked the concept. Right now it's very hard to rate it in the "Fun" category because there aren't many interesting bases around, but I can see a game like this becoming quite addictive when other players start taking it seriously.

    Editing my stage was kind of confusing at first because I couldn't see how much money I had.

    Stryphe says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:29am

    I really like the idea and enjoyed what you have put together.

    nickworks says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:51am

    Very cool idea. It's like having two games in one, and you'd never run out of new levels!

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:07am

    Chambers : I knong its confusing, we did not have enough time to make it simple and display all details. (many things in the background you cant see atm, many tiles not displayed, many ships not displayed, etc ...)

    Yacodo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:08am

    We need the finished version, seems great. The editor is kinda "no-one friendly", didn't get it hard to add a tile (spam click).

    Faust says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:10pm

    Wow, didn't except it's an online shooter. Excellent entry.

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:00pm

    There is not much to rate, but the potential of the concept and the beauty of the graphics tell me that you really know your stuff :D
    I want to see this finished! :)

    Suese says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:16pm

    Aha, now I get it. Should have made some built-in levels to go along with the user-made levels.

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:26pm

    Competitive level design, what a great concept. Multiplayer is ambitious for Ludum Dare, and you approached it well.

    The main flaw here is the interface. Going back and forth across screens isn't very intuitive - I only figured the nature of this game with some experimenting. And the editor is simple enough to not have to rely so much on menus.

    I'd be thrilled to see a post-jam version. It has so much potential.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:55pm

    Jiggawatt, we are setting up a new server at the moment with new modifictions coming up for the new version. A link will come with indication that its not in the competion. Thank-you for your review :)

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:15pm

    It's quite fun to test your own bases. As already mentioned, the base editor is a bit unintuitive at first. Graphics are nice and sound is fine. Nicely done.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:20pm

    Cool effects and overall a nice shoot them up, the multiplayer aspect suprise, because it's nicely implemented, the only thing I didn't like was the interface, it's kinda clunky. The only thing indicating that I am a villain is those "terms of agreement".

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:38pm

    Great idea! I have lot of fun, but i feel a little frustrated, I didn't fully understand the money system at first and I restart my room too many time, my room is so bad now :-S

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:10am

    Sensational game! Simply astounding! Lost some time in it. The community aspect was really surprising and knocked me out. Some music and better design of the base creation (I click twice, and after a while it creates a tile where my mouse is, if I mouse my mouse where I wait it can get frustating, and you can't know if you can put a x tile on y place) screen would help a lot, though.

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:03am

    A little confusing at first, but there is a lot going on in here and as said by others above, the multiplayer aspect completely caught me off gaurd. Kudos.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:27am

    This did take quite a while to get into, and I didn't understand it at first... but after I finally figured out how to place objects, it picked up quite a bit.

    I think it could use some refinement in the fire rate of the character's ship and also in some of the time types, but it is overall very solid and an admirable effort for the jam!

    SiENcE says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:49pm

    The two modes are nice. Using the shapewright tool for the shipdesign is also a great idea!

    Tifu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:49pm

    Pretty good! Love the particle stuff on the ship. It seems incredibly hard to hit the enemy ships though, I think I did it once maybe... or possibly they aren't supposed to be attackable, in which case, not sure why that one blew up.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:52pm

    Tifu : they are not attackable, else its to easy :)
    They blow up wen they hit you normaly :

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:11pm

    Nice, you design the level ,you fly it.
    The particle system is nice but it needs to be thinner and like a line...imo

    Well done, I liked it anyway.

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:16pm

    I noticed that you are using a MySQL database to store logs, players and others data, and you use it as pre-data for the game, so you can deploy the app and then make it dependant of external data sources and assets...that's smart.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:39pm

    Juaxix : Thats the idea, but we did think to BIG for a 72h contest i think. Thank-you for your review, its nice to see that the work is noticed ;)

    wzl says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:08pm

    Interesting concept, but somewhat lacking in it's execution. I could imagine this as some kind of two player game where one side constructs the base while the other controls the ship.

    minireview: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#lotusgame

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:43pm

    Wzl : ou can build bases and attack who you want. Its not a "two" player game :) Its a two ways of playing the game... but more than that, the goal is to make it hard to not build a base because the ship is getting better with what you add to your base :) As you said, its lacking. Thats true... we did a far to bigger project for a LD ! (first timer mistake...)
    The Post Compo version is starting to get better as we take more time to think about how the hole thing fits in.
    But still thanks for the review :)

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:04pm

    Excellent classic scroller!

    Reminds me a bit of llamatron? Hmm, maybe not.

    Loved the EULA touch.

    Superb graphics! Could really use a scores counter in the attack mode, and I couldn't make much sense of the base builder.

    TyrusPeace says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:41pm

    It's a little too easy to beat enemy levels, even when they have a lot of stuff in them, but this is a really cool idea!

    I'll be sure to check out the post compo version. Well done!

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:12am

    Hello
    We had litle time for the Post Compo verison, but its here : http://ld25-unranked.lotusgame.com/
    Thx for reviews ;)

    Houly says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:52pm

    Funny goats but that was all. Very hard to build a base. The post compo version makes that better.

    ethankennerly says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:56pm

    Wow! A multiplayer game in 3 days with a client and server! Building my base and attacking other players' bases interested me. I like that this is a casual shoot'em up. If you continue to develop this, I'd be curious about what makes for good base building tactics. At first it seemed like I could destroy anything I could build in my own base.

    stigmawall says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:14pm

    It's very easy, but your multiplayer shoot´n up game have your potential.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:47pm

    Novel concept! I like it!

    Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:20am

    Very ambitious jam entry here. Pretty hard to reign in the scope, I see. I hope this gets developed further, because there's an excellent start.

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:08pm

    A very nice idea, but it lacks gameplay balance. As other already mentioned, it is to easy for an attacker. I really hope you keep working on this!

    caranha says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:17pm

    Very interesting concept. It puts together two things that I love: Pew Pews and base building.

    I felt that the game could use some love and polish, but I think this has immense potential.

    On the base building side, it isn't very clear at first that you are building a top scroller stage. Maybe you should make the player do one attack round before being allowed to build? Then things get clearer.

    Also, the lag was kinda bad. Sometimes I double clicked on a space in the board, THEN moved my mouse, and THEN the tile appeared, at the mouse's new position. Maybe base building could be done all on the client side, and then have the client press save to send the base or something?

    Please get rid of the goat walls, they're terrible :-P But other than that, great game! Please continue developing on it!

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:42pm

    Cool! I agree with caranha's dislike of the goat walls, they kind of confuse it. It took me a few runs to figure out that the ship can take a few hits before being destroyed, is that displayed anywhere? At first I thought that the hit detection wasn't working perfectly.

    Per says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:43pm

    Very nice idea!
    I think that this game can grow into something really big :)

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:39am

    I like the idea of the game. The space combat was interesting but the base editor was a bit annoying to use. Still, with a bit of work this could be a fairly interesting game, especially if you get a large enough fan base. As long as you don't monetize by selling people credits (giving people who pay a huge advantage) it could catch on.

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:06am

    Really like the idea, and the execution is pretty damn good.

    impulse9 says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 2:17pm

    Very innovative. Top 5.

    lotusgame says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 8:52am

    Hello all.
    Its very nice to see all these comments and reviews on this first Ludum Dare we have done :) With hollidays and so on have not had time to conitnu much, but its the plan !

    Colapsydo says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 2:41pm

    I like the idea of having some multiplayer experience even if there is no other connected players.
    Both part are complementary. Each time one buys a new part to its base, it's hard to resist the will to gain more money.
    Maybe it lacks some feedback about the scoring and the money earned.

    The shield/life of the spaceship is really nice.

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:04pm

    Great concept! I love the idea of attacking other people's base. Nice graphics and props for the scary looking goat! :P

    Jan 4, 2013 @ 7:20pm

    Nice idea! The flying and shooting part of the game feels much more polished than the base building.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]