Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Super Villain Goat Hunter

by Taffaz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A 2d game where you have to kill all the innocent goats. But watch out, if you kill too many they may fight back.

Controls
========

W,A,S,D : Move up, down, left or right
LMB : Fire

Notes
=====

Goats get progressively more HP as you kill them so they require more shots to kill them.

To win you need to kill the boss after you reach 100 points.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#545Humor2.00
#658Theme2.38
#713Graphics1.85
#719Mood1.78
#759Fun1.62
#760Overall1.90
#764Innovation1.45
#831Coolness41%

Comments

amassingham says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:39am

Needs some visual feedback when you hit a goat with a shot ( flashing red etc), and some sound would be great.

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:35pm

Poor goats, why I have to kill them? :-(

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:40pm

Having only one sprite for the goat is not a problem but you could improve animation by flipping it when it goes left or right so goats would not moonwalk after you.

delpes says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:52pm

Neat. Some of the goates where unkillable, i retried a few times, so i was unable to get to a 'winning screen'

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:55pm

That killer goat scarred me! Some more visual couldn't hurt - like or effect when you get hit or when you hit goats. Maybe you could also make a game more fast pace because shooting intervals were really slow for me. Goat game with a twist - well done completing the LD48 :)

Nehmulos says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:07pm

This game could really use some polish like graphical effects and sounds on hit.
An instruction, that I have to use the mouse to shoot (I though I had to use space, because the menu told me to). It is annoying that I have to click everytime I want to change my direction of fire.
I was also confused, that the goats seemed to have a random amount of hitpoints.

The killer-goat is a nice idea, but he was really easy to kill, since I could run away without him ever closing up to me, maybe a rushattack for the goat, or a stamina-bar for the player could have made it more fun.

I liked your water Animation and simple retro graphicstyle.

I hope this critique does not demotivate you, for a first released game (as you write in your post) this is already very good and I hope you keep your motivation to learn and improve your skills!

sharbelfs says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:11pm

i'm sorry but how do i kill the goats?

Taffaz says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:54pm

Thanks to everyone for all the comments and taking the time to play the game. All your suggestions are greatly appreciated and I agree with them all, a lot of them were always intended to go into the game but time got the better of me and I didn't have time to code them.

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:15pm

Interesting idea. The mechanics need some polish. It's hard to aim with the mouse and move with the arrow keys. It'd be nice to have feedback when hitting a goat. Also, the game is not very challenging. There is an HP meter, but I couldn't lose any health.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Nice take on the goats. Neat setting, but everything just needed "more". A little too slow. But congrats on entering. Keep going!

nilstastic says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:24pm

Good: Nice graphics! Liked the water. =)
Improve: Hard to aim :/

epiplon says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:25pm

Don't like it too much. The shooting are imprecise, takes too long and the 'goat mother' don't die. Don't even know if I'm making progress.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:27pm

+humor for the initial dialogue :D

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:48pm

I can't see any connection to the theme, other than killing innocent goats (Which is quite evil when i think of it). The gameplay is not that interesting and the lack of sound doesn't do it any better. But you still present a clear idea and a clear objective, and you do it well.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]