December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A Night in Arkham

by gty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Night in Arkham is a text-based game where you take control of a previously unconscious guy that doesn't know anything about what's happening around.

What should you do?

I've take the +1 Goats optional theme as well.

The game takes place around 1940 and lots of hp lovecrafts references are inside too.

I hope you enjoy it. :3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Mood3.45
#470Theme2.96
#505Audio1.95
#623Humor1.81
#670Coolness49%
#673Overall2.38
#685Fun2.04
#693Innovation2.09
#765Graphics1.24

Comments

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:22pm

Your game says I need to download unity web player when I already have it. Additionally my anti-virus program didn't like your site. I'll try again later on a different machine.

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:30pm

A key to speed up the text would be nice if you play a second time

joecarrot says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:31pm

'Use lockpick'

you can't use that.

/quit

Klakwa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:31pm

For me using Unity for this type of game makes it hard to play. The whole box thing to enter commands to which you need to change focus is a bit of a pain. It would play much better as a regular Windows console app.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:06pm

How do you exit the Bedroom?

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:58pm

Pro tip for future players: You use the lock pick first going "pick lockpick" - pick means "pickup"!

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:06pm

A good ol' fashioned text adventure, I see. The story was pretty gripping, actually. I agree on a way of speeding up the text.
I had some good fun with this one, thanks! Keep making games. :D

FrederickK says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:42pm

Like they said, would be nice a quicker new game.
I liked the atmosphere of the game, much like the real old games.
Good game!

gty says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:36am

i didn't have enough time to test the text speed and some other features in the game.

the pick/pickup thing makes total sense, you`re right.

i`ve tried to make the game easier like if you do have the key/lockpick you simply go through the door and there's no "use lockpick" like you've tried. maybe that's a real problem because it's not that obvious.

i`ve tried on my pc yesterday and everything went ok then i`ve tested the game today and it asked a new unity plugin. weird but it worked. and my "site" is dropbox.com so i don't think i can do anything about it haha

thanks for the feedback.

Floko says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:28pm

It was pretty interesting indeed =]
I wish I could pick up more than one object at once , like :

Pick Lockpick and Stealthpotion

And receive both items instead of having to type pick for each one of them...

I really enjoyed it, though =]

illugion says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:19am

The game was too slow =/ it could be better with more speed

Lyonsbanner says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:10pm

"You are the useless humain I never known" Thanks :/

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]