December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Busdriver's paradise

by lucas-b.eyer.be - Jam Entry

You, being a busdriver, are mad that you're always late because of the grannys. KILL THEM ALL!

Not the cats tho, even villains like cats. Gargamel has one.

I bent the Compo rules by using art from OGA and Blendswap. I had far less than 48h to work on this.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#132Humor(Jam)2.74
#172Audio(Jam)2.73
#235Fun(Jam)2.48
#241Theme(Jam)2.87
#257Mood(Jam)2.42
#293Graphics(Jam)2.22
#309Overall(Jam)2.22
#327Innovation(Jam)1.61
#742Coolness46%

Comments

henrypenface says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:26pm

I quite enjoyed the music.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Poor grammas.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:45pm

i love the music and cats! :)
but game is very simple, there are no buildings (why there are street when you can drive wherever you want?)
it can become really cool game but need a lot of work though

fussycashew says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:44am

I had a lot of fun with this, it gets pretty old though.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:21am

The controls worked smoothly, but I felt more like a bird than a bus.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:07am

Physics are too simple for me and the bus seems light like a feather. :/ Anyway squeeze people is quite fun! :)

DragonKN says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:46pm

nice job =)

char68 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:53pm

It doesn't seem like it's too different from the original grand theft auto games. Fun to noodle around with, but doesn't really keep me playing for long

Jiddo says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:33am

Cool and and entertaining idea, but it starts to feel pointless a bit too quick.

I would have much preferred if the controls were inversed while reversing, as you would expect from this type of game. Also, if the bus could like slide and stuff like that then the fun factor would increase a LOT.

You should consider adding buildings and just having the grannys, cats and goats on the sidewalks instead of randomly all over the place. That'd add a little bit more of a driving challenge.

There should be some sort of end to the game, even if it's just a countdown timer, or loosing a life every time you run over a cat. That would make the score main a lot more.

Background music and sound effects were good tho, and the overall graphics was nice.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:23pm

It's like the first Grand thef auto. I like it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]