December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Karma

by tembac - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Karma: (in Hinduism and Buddhism) The sum of a person's actions in this and previous states of existence, viewed as deciding their fate in future existences.

You are your own bad guy, avoid your own shots.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#257Innovation3.10
#413Audio2.25
#530Graphics2.52
#623Fun2.24
#644Overall2.43
#654Mood2.16
#677Theme2.29
#681Humor1.54
#990Coolness28%

Comments

NuSan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:23am

I have trouble understanding how it work, th 3D is difficult to see, so its pretty random shooting. But graphic style is cool and i like the "you are your own vilain" idea.

joecarrot says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:01pm

took a bit to get used to the shooting situation. still don't understand how I lost.

Klakwa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:01pm

It's hard to tell where you're going to be hit by this bounced projectile, and I would like to see the score since only combo counts I guess. But I like the idea and the fact you need to be aware of your own shots. Pretty cool !

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:03pm

That perspective completely wreck my mind. It was pretty cool.

tembac says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Thanks for the comments!

I know it is hard to understand because it lacks some kind of tutorial or difficulty progression.
Basics:
- you have to shoot everything to add points to the combo score.
- If the time of the combo finishes the combo score returns to 0.
- if you are hit the time of the combo returns to 0 and you lose a life.
- best combos are saved.

Loren says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:16am

Pretty cool, I liked the graphics, really crisp!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:27am

This is hard to play, but VERY interesting, I love that 2D/3D shooter idea! Very innovative!

haxpor says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:58am

I don't understand the goal of this game. But this is a first game I played so far that support joypad (but shooting not work on xbox360 controller, but movement does work!).

Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:21am

I like the idea, especially "you are your own villain". like others have mentioned, getting hit is a little bit odd and hard to see, but I think that otherwise it was fairly straight forward... play for a high score. Movement also seemed very smooth.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:16pm

Didn't catch it... And I'm failing to see where it fits the theme.

mangosarecool says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:52pm

its a good game and so addicting but doesn't fit the theme

fishbrain says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:20am

Interesting... there's something in this idea, but is a little too random at the moment.

ilo says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:24am

The premise is interesting. You could elaborate on it by having the player able leave a trail of destruction that she/he would also have to avoid (I could survive forever by circling and shooting rapidly).

The shots could bounce back in random directions, and maybe it should check for a collision much closer to the screen than it currently does. I assumed I was the camera rather than the moving square, which may cause some confusion when players lose.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]