December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Nosferatu Lurks

by Princess Buccaneer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play Nosferatu, the oddly-square vampire. Your aim is to kill all the enemies in the level. The enemies only have flashlights to defend themselves! Don't let them shine their lights on you, or you'll die.

This is my first ever Ludum Dare - and, thus, the first game I've ever seen to completion (since I was about 13).

CONTROLS:
(WASD)/(ZQSD)/(IJKL)/Arrow keys to move
Space to pounce

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#152Audio3.06
#326Innovation2.94
#345Mood2.81
#363Humor2.53
#429Fun2.72
#450Theme3.00
#513Graphics2.56
#519Overall2.72
#930Coolness33%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:50am

The only remotely interesting thing in this game is dynamic lighting - but unfortunately I didn't have time to implement dynamic shadowing as well :( ho hum.

Oh, also, it has some very cheesy music! Play it just for that. Go on.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:05pm

Which button to fire with?

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:24pm

I liked it, it was a cool idea, challenging and nicely put together! Nice Job :)

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34pm

Great GUI art and nice lighting.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:36am

It's pretty tough - I like the concept a lot, a little tweaking would make it a whole lot of fun. Great work!

Nolan C says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:02am

Tough to get the hang of it, but once I did it was pretty fun.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:09am

pretty unique light-avoidance mechanic. I liked the strategy involved. Good audio too!

Fate says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:29am

Nice job. I like the lighting mechanic, and the idea of the game. I felt like movement should be a bit slower so it feels more stealthy.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:44am

The controls are kind of annoying, and I found the second level really difficult, as it'd either pounce far too far into the light or get stuck on a wall in the light. Pretty fun though

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Reminds me of my second LD entry! It was kind of difficult to control the vampire though, I commonly pounced through light only to land right inside of the light-radius surrounding the juicy, blood-filled humans.

infernet89 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:22pm

Nice idea of a stealth game, feel a little uncomfortable with controls.

LogGiant says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:43am

The leaping was a little odd, but I got the hang of it quickly enough. I really liked the victory sound, it was fabulous.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]