Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Earth Destroyer - Interbellum - Jam Entry

!!! Kongregate version is most updated. A lot of controls and optimization improvements there. We recommend to play that one !!!

!!! FOR WEB-VERSION CLICK RIGHT MOUSE BUTTON AND CHOOSE <GO FULLSCREEN> OTHER WAY YOU CANT ROTATE WITH RIGHT MOUSE BUTTON INSIDE THE GAME !!!

Name: Earth Destroyer

Genre: Puzzle

Team: Interbellum team

Graphics, Game design - Ivan taranenko (Parhelion)
Programming - Andrey Mikhaylenko (Multirezonator)
VFX, Level design - Kirill Mikhaylenko (Xatab)
SFX - http://www.freesfx.co.uk

Our web-site: http://interbellum.ru/index_eng.html

Description:
Quiet simple puzzle game. Alien invasion happens and player controls alien general. Main task is to destroy humans cities (in honor of alien Queen). Gameplay builds on smart money spending. You have set of weapons, every with its features and cost. Your goal is to destroy all buildings.

Development process:
I`ll be brief, cause i`m tired and my english f..cking ridiculous. So we are small team of three man and this is our first LD. Friend of mine tell me about and we decide to join. By the way we are from Ukraine.
From 12 final themes that one was worst for us. For other we have better ideas, but shit happens. Anyway for that one we also have simple idea. We decide to not write a journal cause lack of time.
Whole game was done from zero in about 36 hours. We don't work at night-times. I believe overwork is inefficient. Also we use Unity3d engine cause its well-known for us and works pretty fine. We made a simple plan (how many levels, graphic assets and features we need) and start to work. For destruction we use simple mesh and combined from pieces variant. Producing this combined stuff takes a lot of time and was hard routine for me =(. Although plan gives us a vision how to run developing processes in parallels. So nobody sitting without a work and waiting for others.
Don't know what else to say if any question please ask here or you can find our contacts on web-site - http://interbellum.ru/index_eng.html Although you can find there information about our current "big" project - Bravada.

Hope you`d like our game. Please vote for us!

View Interbellum's journal. | View all entries by Interbellum

Ratings

Coolness57%
#12Overall(Jam)3.93
#15Graphics(Jam)4.45
#23Audio(Jam)3.79
#26Fun(Jam)3.65
#57Innovation(Jam)3.44
#61Mood(Jam)3.40
#65Theme(Jam)3.78
#104Humor(Jam)2.94

Comments

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:02pm

I for one welcome our new alien overlords!

Atomic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:34pm

I'll write a lot because this is my favorite game so far.
The good:
-LOVE the graphic style
-Great sounds and music
-Great levels
-Love wiping cities out
The bad:
-Got *very* laggy towards the end and my computer isn't a weakling
-Line weapon was very hard to aim, would b better if you could actually draw a line
-Once I levelled every building and the alien still told me I could do better... go figure
-Some clipping/out of map glitches but that's fine
The ugly:
-With such a good entry you guys didn't need the gratuitous vote begging, seriously!

Still the best entry so far!

Yogr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:46pm

Great game! Although I think this may have been more suited for the "End of the World" theme that almost won.

Interbellum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:53pm

About the end of the world had other ideas.

juaxix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:24am

I really love this game, it's like 'Traffic Panic London' for iOS .
Cool

Klakwa says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:19am

That's a very cool game! I like how it's quite similar thing to what I did, but a totally different take on it at the same time.

It was fun to play and destroy the things. Only thing that bugged me was - It was hard to figure out which weapon I do have selected at the moment at first.

Very nice stuff, congratulations !

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:29am

Awesome game. The only problem is that the laser beam is hard to shoot.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:29am

Very nice style

Wish the line weapons travelled along the mouse click ray or you could draw them on the map or something

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:32am

Very nice game! The only comment I have is the weapon selection is somehow counter intuitive. I would suggest the using one is highlighted and gray out the others.

ratking says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:35am

Wow, nice one! Two things: 1) You can deactivate the context menu of Unity in the webplayer (search for it in the documentation, it's just a parameter via JavaScript). 2) It was very unclear to me at the beginning which weapon is activated (as there were only two). Highlight the current one with a rectangle or so instead of graying it out.
Really great entry otherwise!

Datw says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:50am

Good game, but it is too hard to satisfy the queen. I just skipped the level when I felt like it.

Interbellum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:53pm

Thanks all for the comments. Control can be done easier and more intuitive, but too little have time to polishing.

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:57pm

It's a bit difficult to get 3-star-clear,
but this is really fun and awesome!

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:44pm

Same as @Klawka about the weapons, i was pretty confused. Graphics look great and the game is rather difficult, which is not a bad thing! Cool! :)

michax says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:31pm

Wow!. Great game!

Codexus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:02am

Great game, fun and beautiful graphics!

Interbellum says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:21pm

Thank you, guys! So glad to see you like it. Now we work on optimization, GUI fix and other improvements. Web-version will be updated.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:46am

One of the best entries so far. Congrats.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:43am

Nice graphics, very polished! One of the best games I have played from this LD so far. It would be nice if the line laser could be moved in a certain direction. It often doesn't choose the most destructive path. Also, the context menu is a bit annoying.

Elisée says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Great look and nice job overall! Some critics:

- The gameplay felt too slow: I'm the evil guy destroying cities, why do I have to wait between each shot? I know it makes sense from a story point of view (lack of resources) but gameplay-wise it's frustrating and doesn't add any challenge: it just makes the game last unnecessarily longer.
- Your dialogues could have used some proof-reading :).
- The active weapon is the one grayed out. Doesn't make sense to me and it took me a while to figure out which weapon was active.

Wan & Manu says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Great entry! I'm really impressed by the quality of the graphics, and while there are some small issues (not sure how to use the line weapon, levels lack a bit some balance and more precise goals), it's overall a very impressive game. Congratulations!

Interbellum says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:46am

Thanks everyone for critics and support! We fix most main mistakes and make Kongregate version (so its most updated one).

Updates list:
- a lot of optimization (new shaders, physics, post effects off)
- marker for cubes that will be affected (really handy)
- new controls (wasd, 12345, flying camera etc)
- updated menu (animation mostly)

so try it its a lot better

krutech says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 12:29am

Cool use of basic unity and a sweet polish to explosions!

Houly says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:51pm

This looks amazing. Cool how you guys pulled that of in such a short time. And a nice game, too. Kinda hart at the end.

Hatscat says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:50pm

What an amazing game! great job!

recursor says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 12:37am

Nice concept. I enjoyed this one.

Mago says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Great game! One of the best entry! Amazing job guys!

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Wow, really cool stuff. You did a great job with the different weapons and level design. It's pretty impressive.

Graphics and sound are also great. Congrats.

strong99 says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Really neat!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]