December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

AL

by sgreenlay - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Description:

It is the year 2100.

Humankind has many space stations orbiting Earth and other planets.

The monotonous operations of these spacestations have been entrusted to a super-intelligent Artificial Lifeform (A.L.).

AL is tired of monotony and would like to kill all the Humans.

Side notes:

This is my first LD and I didn't realize how long it would take to make the engine + game from scratch. As a result, I ran out of time, so there is only 1 boring tutorial-esque level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#263Theme3.44
#326Innovation2.94
#496Humor2.15
#560Mood2.41
#570Fun2.38
#629Graphics2.19
#701Overall2.25
#948Coolness32%

Comments

Sigrath says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:52am

Like the concept, would be awesome to see more of this.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:30pm

This is an awesome idea.

Sestren says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:17am

Good concept, too bad you ran out of time and couldn't have implemented more levels. I would love to see a Post-Competition version of this.

Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:52am

I could see this being really fun if it was developed further.

donmilham says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:39am

I like the idea of playing a rogue spaceship AI. Nice try.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:14am

I like the idea. Keep working on it!

MALHCat says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:05am

Like it! Very good idea

Beanalby says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 8:25pm

Good concept, running out of time is very common, especially with new participants. I'm looking forward to your entries in the future!

rvmook says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 9:01pm

At first I only saw the green circle saying things, so that didn't really make sense. After a refresh everything worked fine, took a while to figure out what to do, but I think if you work on this some more it can be a nice puzzle game. I'd love a post compo version!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 9:22pm

Cool, neat enough to hopefully warrant more than one level.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]