December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Elevator Evil

by 8bitDamage - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an evil elevator! Your goal is drop the mans of at the wrong floor so they get stressed out and eventually explode!When the mans realise that they're on the wrong floor they will be damaged by stress. The more stressed out they are, the more damage they take. This is indicated by the number over their head. The further away from the correct floor they are, the more stress they take. If you drop them at the correct floor though, the will be relieved and lose stress.

Made in C# and XNA. Other programs used were Photoshop, Sonar, Audacity, Paint.net and Visual Studio 2010.

This has been my first publicly released game. I hope you enjoy.


SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS

PC running Windows XP/Vista/7/8
DirectX 9 GPU that supports at least shader model 2.0

Additional frameworks:
- .NET 4.0:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851
- XNA 4.0:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#34Innovation3.95
#43Theme4.02
#65Humor3.59
#119Audio3.22
#134Mood3.26
#233Graphics3.30
#282Overall3.14
#383Fun2.81

Comments

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:42am

I can't run XNA things on my work computer, so this one goes on my ToDo Tonight list.

This does, however, sound like the most original idea I've seen up till now, I'd love to see the execution :)

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:02am

Nice idea, the only problem is I'm somehow lost when playing it.

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:17am

I'm planning on making a video explaining the game mechanics a bit more in-depth.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:59pm

It's fun however i don't really understand what i'm doing, but being an evil elevator is cool !

jmaasing says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:20pm

Sorry, can't rate, I don't have windows.

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:32pm

It kinda gets complicated on higher levels, but the idea is good, graphics are great, music is nice and the theme fits perfectly. :) Solid entry.

luclabelle says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:19pm

holy file size batman

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:21pm

Interesting concept, but I'm not really sure how to determine the wrong floors for people. Also, not sure whether it's my system or the game, but after playing once I'm no longer able to view the instructions page, it just autoconfirms upon start and shows the game.

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:49pm

Sweet idea, but surely there should be a way to see which floor your current occupant wants to go to - without this information, the best strategy is just random reallocation of people around the building...

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:05pm

The more the damage the mans take at each floor means they are further away from the correct floor. If you knew which floor they wanted to go to then it wouldn't be any challenge at all. :)

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:26pm

I like the graphics. I wasn't quite sure where to take them - it felt pretty random. I like the explosions.

tompudding says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:27pm

This might be the best premise I've ever heard for a game. It is very confusing though, I would like to know which floor people want to go to (after all, real elevators know the floor the users want!), maybe you could add challenge some other way?

Markavian says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:39pm

I became so stressed I exploded.

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:08am

I like it, but sometimes it wouldn't move the people- or at least not like I thought it would. Maybe more variety and a "line" of people might serve to fix this?

Smaxx says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:38am

Random idea: Maybe show a small up/down arrow on the elevator showing the direction the people picked. This gives you a rough idea in the early stages without spoiling the whole challenge.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:51am

haha, so good. Love the stress

Freakill says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:25am

Excellent entry, I love this game! I was laughing like hell since the beginning, I don't know why, but being an evil elevator seems really funny hehehehe, maybe that's why I don't use them, surelly there is somebody behinf them making us get nuts waiting or going slow! Lovely game! I loved graphics and music too :) Mechanics are hard though, it is difficult tokeep track to the players, as when they accumulate on the elevator you should see remember how is the pile and which score did each one get in the last floor they have been. Maybe more dressing and puting them one next to the other would had been easier for the player ;)

jujule says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:21am

An evil elevator ! That's the best idea I've seen so far.
The game mechanics works really well. Congratualtions for your first LD entry. It's super good.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:31pm

I had no idea where they wanted to go and if I put them on the right floor or not so things just happened randomly. Kind of fun still tho. Fun idea, like reverse Elevator Action

HeXoT says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:31pm

This isnt too evil, it happens everyday in my university! xD

iandioch says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:46pm

A really interesting mechanic, but I had no idea what floor any of the people wanted to go to, so I accidentally was a good lift :( Fun game though!

Hume says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:32pm

Actually, it doesn't seem like you can tell where they want to go based on the stress level. For some guys, a certain amount of stress meant that they wanted an adjacent floor. For others, that same amount of stress meant that the target floor was at the other extreme of the building. I might have that wrong, but it's hard to tell the guys apart. I did much better moving guys to random floors than trying to figure out where they didn't want to go.

You mentioned that their floor would appear above their heads in the instructions. I think people would have gotten a lot more out of this game if that were so.

Regardless, I played this quite a bit and really enjoyed it. I kind of wish I were playing it right now.

caranha says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:37pm

Very nice idea, and very nice music! This is a cool puzzle game.

The guys exploding because of stress is kinda surreal :-)

I think that the background has a bit of too much contrast with the building and sprites. If you make a post-compo version, you might want to address that, to give your game a more consistent feel.

Also, you should take a look at your texts, some parts are quite hard to understand :-)

Thanks for the game!

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:08pm

@Hume: No no, the number that appear over their heads are the damage they take from the stress. The more damage they take the further away they are from their target floor.

I wanted to make an in-game tutorial of the game but didn't have the time for it. It would've probably made the mechanics more clearer. I agree that they are hard to understand.

@caranha: Yeah I know... :/ The text are really written in pure haste at the last second. An in-game tutorial would've been prefered.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:40pm

Long download. Next time maybe you could use a different file format for the sfx.

I wasn't able to tell which floor the guys wanted to go to. I liked the idea, but I wish I could have also given them a thrill by hitting a key to do a fast drop, or letting them out on the same floor, or opening the doors and closing again before they got in. Maybe I was meant to be an evil elevator.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:58pm

I REALLY like the premise. So much potential. It's very hard and not particularly rewarding to keep track of all the different levels of stress though, because you can just keep inputting random floors and there's no way to lose, nothing to gain, except a bigger level of the same thing again. Maybe a better way to do it than just making people randomly find out whether a floor is good or not, would be to give visual indicator of what they're thinking, which floor they might want to go to. Also having multiple people in a lift at one time might cause some stress. But you'd have to be careful which people to pick up (not only to pick up two company rivals) but if you have everyone in the lift, whichever floor you stop on would be the right one for someone inside. See what I mean? :) Really nice idea though, kudos.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:00pm

Also making the lift take ages to get there could be stressful, but if you wait too long they'll take the stairs and you won't get max stress out of them. I also think it would be great if to pass a level you had to reach a certain level of max stress. Again, really love this idea.

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:10pm

The big file size is because of the compiled file for the music. And the music file is 3,7MB and for some reason the compiled .xnb content file is 27MB. I've tried several different formats and comressions but the compilation ends up huge. No idea why.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:11pm

Concept is very fresh, gameplay is not very engaging, though. Still a nice experiment.

Husky says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:30am

Interesting idea!
But I am not sure which floor will cause the more stress.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]