December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Criminal Empires

by pillbrain - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One outstanding bug where sometimes it does not register a menu choice but appears to do so.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#387Theme3.17
#400Innovation2.78
#448Fun2.67
#555Overall2.65
#572Humor1.95
#629Audio1.00
#684Mood2.05
#694Coolness48%
#761Graphics1.30

Comments

tompudding says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:56pm

Very basic graphics, but the game is quite fun. Jolly good show.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:01am

Cool idea, I don't usually like this type of game but it was pretty well executed!

h.attila says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:18am

It's lacking in its presentation, but has a surprising amount of depth. I still couldn't figure out a winning formula.
The descriptions and the random events are also fun.

FinalMirage says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:22am

Was a little confused of what to do when I started but eventually figured it out. It's a cool concept buying stuff to try and build your empire and it plays pretty smoothly, nicely done.
Would've been cool if when you bought something it would show up in the room and wander around (if it's mobile) just so you can get a visual representation of where your money has gone and give some movement to the level. Would also help the level feel less bland. :)

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:35am

Played to completion. Interesting simulation for 48 hours work. There weren't that many negative effects in the game, and after about 30 days I was getting money so fast I couldn't spend it. I would have like to see more challenge, but given the time frame for the competition that is understandable. Also noted an odd bug where it said 995 of my pushers defected (I think I only had 2 at the time).

fakeshadows says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:06am

Really fun, the "news" was a nice idea.

master4523 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:09am

The game has some good ideas. Even though the graphics are minimalistic, the simulation is quite good. I've spent several minutes trying to build my "crime empire".

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:22pm

Game pulled me in at the start even if I'm not good with this kind of games. I came quite far but when I accepted few missions and hired a hitman,bodyguard and police bribe, my money started to drop. It's a nice game overall.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:50pm

LOL nice concept of a big criminal corporation xD nice work man! very fun!

JaJ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:55pm

It wasn't entirely clear to me what the function of some things were. I thought hiring muscle would keep the police of my back, but it only got worse. I also didn't really get what the difference in effect was of hiring a hooker or a drug dealer. It did manage to get pretty far though.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Strangely addicting. Lacking in presentation but has a surprising amount of depth.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:00pm

Similar to Drug Wars with a bit more depth to it.
Nice work for 48 hrs.

ceronman says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:23pm

Very interesting idea.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]