December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Blood Money

by Udrian - Jam Entry

Villainy does not come easy. It's not something that can be granted by chance or birth. It takes hard work. It takes a dedicated mind. It takes the blackest of hearts. The time is now. The villain. Is you.

If the game won't start then install the accompanying XNA 4.0 redist. It's the file named "xnafx40_redist.msi".

The controls are:
Arrow Keys: Move
Z/Y: Melee
X: Use skill
Space: Gather blood
A/S: Cycle between available skills
Tab: Learn new skills

We are planning to release a initial post compo that fixes the main issues. Follow us on twitter to get news about it or check this page

You can follow us on
https://twitter.com/haploidcheek
and
https://twitter.com/Udrian

or check out our homepage for other stuff we have made!
www.typedeaf.net
(Ok, I know that it is empty now. But save it for later!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Fun(Jam)3.59
#59Overall(Jam)3.52
#77Theme(Jam)3.71
#200Humor(Jam)2.33
#205Innovation(Jam)2.65
#213Graphics(Jam)2.90
#221Mood(Jam)2.61
#241Audio(Jam)1.95
#867Coolness39%

Comments

Tyren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:17am

Not bad! This was fun to run around and beat people up! The swarm of bullies nearly destroyed me.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:22am

Quite fun. I love the blood pickup animation. I kept taping space to watch the blood fly around. Collision and ai were wonky in places though.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:51am

Diffidently quit fun. Not to hard, but not exactly too easy either. It made me feel quit villainous too. All you need now is some better graphics.

~AlucardX60

Udrian says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:32am

Thanks for the comments! ^^

arhpositive says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:15pm

Good entry. Really fun to play, pretty addictive. :) The game got tougher in quite a short amount of time, but it's not a big thing.

Slushy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:05pm

good effort man , I got to level 10 villian before accidentally quitting , lucky I had tried all the upgrades

Norgg says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:24pm

Destroyed everything, left all alone forever, spending quality time with the blood roomba.

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:35pm

The game is fun and works, although I think that the collisions are a bit problematic. Sometimes I hit with distant walls, and sometimes I don't hit the character. Slightly polishing the hitbox would make the game feel more fluid. I would give it a faster pace at the start as well. Good job!

Udrian says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:01pm

@MaTX yeah, we are well aware of the collision problems. Implemented them pretty late into the game and didn't really have the time to do it properly! Would definitely be one of the first things to fix if we continue on with this. But thanks for the comment!

tompudding says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:51pm

Fairly enjoyable, I liked the progression, and the carnage that happened as soon as the enemies with guns came after me.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Fun game!

Fireblend says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:34pm

Hah, I loved all the blood going around. Great entry! Someone mentioned you having to improve the graphics but I actually like them this way. Nice job :)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:49am

seriously fun

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:12am

This game is awesome fun! At first I wasn't sure why the blood wasn't an auto-gather feature like the souls, then I slaughtered about five people and had covered the field of view in blood before sweeping it up just in the nick of time! (some of it had just begun to vanish).

Others have already mentioned the collision issues. I totally also did exactly what Norgg did as well, such a lonely life we lead xD

Great work, please do keep working on it!

wzl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:26am

Ok here's some thoughts:
would be nice if the movement is actually aligned with the grid, so instead of 450deg, you move 30 deg diagonally, helps keeping the appearance.
The collision is buggered, but i suppose you're aware of that.
There's only 3 active abilities, so instead of cycling them i'd suggest using 3 different buttons for them. i accidently used the wrong skills too often :P

Mechanically it's great and i had a blast playing it. Spice it up graphically and put it up on Kongregate <3 good stuff guys

Minireview: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#udrian

Neonlare says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:29pm

Definitely fun for a few minutes~ Wish the controls were a little easier to use, but it's pretty good! Got to level 7 Villainy

Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:55pm

That was really fun once I got the fireball. Interesting ramp up of enemies. Wish the zombies were a bit tougher.

Udrian says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:51pm

Thank you all for the feedback! It is really nice to hear!

@wzl yeah, thought about moving diagonally but I actually prefer this type of movement, thinking about adding a option for how you want to steer! Yeah that thing with abilities is a little bit tricky, we are planning to adding more abilities and also using a game pad as a controller. I guess we have to take a further look into that whole thing, maybe putting abilities as hotkeys instead of cycling trough them! Thanks for the wonderful feedback =)

Eniko says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:50am

Really fun little game! Enjoyed figuring out what skills to get in order to be able to stay alive. Is the game supposed to just kind of stop after level 10 cause you've won? I kinda wanted to keep wreaking havoc and saving up blood to spam the map with my minions.

Udrian says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:40am

Thanks for the comment Eniko! No there was a bug that caused enemies to not spawn for a very long time, so that sucked xP. Actually there is supposed to come harder enemies after level 10. We might soon put up a post compo link where this issue along with collisions are fixed!

Niavlys says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:19pm

That was cool indeed! I loved the gathering effect. I'm looking forward to the post-compo version :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]