Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Under a bloody sky - NuSan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Lost are we, and are only so far punished,
That without hope we live on in desire."
- Dante Alighieri, The Divine Comedy

During this two days, my work as been mainly shader code, and javascript learning. It's not a game, more a small landscape to discover. WebGL is a great tool, and this first LD try as been very instructive.

I have used the framework "PlayCanvas" (thank to them) actualy in beta, but already with great tools, powerfull and very customisable.

Use arrow keys to move the camera across the little maze.

View NuSan's journal. | View all entries by NuSan

Ratings

Coolness53%
#8Graphics4.46
#245Mood3.00
#617Audio1.12
#676Innovation2.16
#712Humor1.14
#741Overall2.09
#768Theme1.38
#769Fun1.46

Comments

cdata says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:48am

Very interesting. I am a huge fan of games that use browsers as their platform. This is one of the more beautiful demonstrations of WebGL that I have seen in action. I really wish there was more of a game to play - do you think you will expand on it in the future? :)

Skyshifter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:47am

Awesome graphics, but not much to do other than walk around and stare at walls.

odrega says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:39am

Amazing! Most beautiful (3D) in browser game i've seen, and didn't "cheat" by using an already built in 3D engine (unity).

madmaw says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:14am

I've had a play with WebGL in the past and I have to say this is a frigging amazing achievement

LucaPavone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:14am

There might not be much to do here, but its gorgeous! Simply gorgeous!

sanderman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:19am

Interesting artistic style. Though I would suggest adding more detail. Currently all walls look pretty much the same.

It is indeed more a tech demo than a game. Maybe a first step towards a modern Wizard-like?

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:25am

Really like the graphics, something genuinely different which is great. Obviously I'd have welcomed something to do.

NuSan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:53am

I could prettend that the lack of gameplay is intended. You are in a sort of hell place, and you wait for an eternal time in this little maze. I will maybe continue the project. My final goal was to add some strangle fist weapon, and creature in despear or wrath that you can collect the souls. I'm having troubble with the random generation so everything is static in this version. Obviously it could be nice to have several room style and diversity.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:54am

Great potential. A pity that there are no objetives.

juaxix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:18pm

I really appreciate so much the quality of this.
Can you give me a description of the mechanism of those veins glowing arcs?

Porpentine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:51pm

perfect simulation of dimensional prison-resort XXVII

thanks for the memories, will recommend to all my fellow planar entities

jerombd says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:32pm

Nice horrific atmosphere! You HAVE TO add monsters, horrifying sound FX, etc. ;)

fishbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:47pm

not much to do, but, looks quite delicious!

zachstronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:30pm

Wow, that sky texture is so amazing. The graphics are beautiful.

Xavier says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:29pm

Awesome! a really helpful demo to convince of learning of WebGL.

NuSan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:43pm

"veins glowing arcs" : not sure of that you talk, if it's the sky, it's a mess of shader code. I take several noise texture to make a distortion on my stroke texture. You can check in the source code, all is located in GlobalScrip.js, search "colorFrag3" (name convention is not that important anyway ^^). I have used mainly shader because it so fast compare to javascript, and webGL give access to that. All animation is done in shader, even the mesh motion of the spiky arch.

wallmasterr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:53pm

Nice cross hatching, i made an effect similar to this not to long ago. The only thinkg that i would say is that the material gets a little to bright when its fully iluminated, would mabie adjust the secularity a little. Great work :D

SiENcE says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:19am

Hey, another WebGL game :). Great! My game also runs on WebGL enabled Browser. cheers!

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:15pm

Making good use of PlayCanvas :-)

Really beautiful, I hope you carry on working on it.

ovenchips says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:58pm

Wow, really, really beautiful - hypnotic even.

kato9 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Really interesting visual style. The idea of using the thickness of the cross hatching to represent darkness of the shadowed areas is really clever. Obviously, missing some more game like elements here, but as a sort of technical demo it's really great!

marudziik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:58pm

Great graphics, though it's really a tech demo and not a game (or it IS a not-game!). I would really love to see this taken further.

Codexus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:49am

Interesting. I saw a similar shading technique in Modo's NPR Kit and I thought about replicating it for a game.

iamorim says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:57am

Graphics are amazing and it's for web, so, wow! You could try to add some actions. But, anyway, looks nice! :)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:38am

Pretty, stylish shaders. Would like to see a game made out of it.

Mase says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:40am

I dig the hand-drawn look on the textures. Makes me want to do some 3D work.

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:51am

By far one of the best visually pleasing thing have seen for a ludum dare. You should add some game elements into it.

fhoenig says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:36am

Nice shader!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:47am

very very pretty! Crosshatching shadows is genius! I hope you had fun

michax says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:29am

Wow! Loving your shader idea for shadows! Gives so genuine look to whole scene.
Enjoyed walking around and looking forward to some quests in future.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:39am

Gorgeous.

degtyarev says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:46am

Oh, nice textures, but i cant understand how to play it

Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:32am

The graphics is really impressive!

Zillix says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:56am

really really really pretty. reminds me of the old windows 98 maze screensaver!

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:05am

Very nice graphics, well done!

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:37pm

Very beautiful!
I will take a look at that framework. I use three.js myself and this seems to be a nice alternative!

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:40pm

Really lovely art style. I missed having a strafe key. I'd love to see this turned into an old school dungeon crawler. Good effort.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:20pm

Very cool engine and an interesting stepping stone for a future project. Well done.

DragonKN says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:41pm

nice graphics, but where is the villain?

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:16pm

Wow, great job with the graphics! I might have to look into WebGL myself! Keep working on it, turn it into a real game!

uuav says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:45pm

makes the lights moving and I will THROW MY MONEY ON THAT SCREEN

alexlarioza says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:45pm

Would have been great with some gameplay! :)

Strkl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:24pm

Dat shader

theGiallo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:46pm

Very beautiful shader!

zazery says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:14pm

Nice graphic style.

Wuhao says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:51am

very nice shader!
how do you find PlayCanvas, is it unity like?

NuSan says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:01am

Per : I havent testes three.js. I think playCanvas is less open but has an editor in browser, witch is cool.
Uuav : Lights can already move (and your character emit light too) but i found it disturbing, with the rest of the world prety much static.
Wuhao : I havent tested unity, PlayCanvas has also an editor but prety basic for now. Programing is done in JavaScript.

I'm working on a post-compo version, with an enemy ! For now, he just chase you whenever he see you. I must had some kind of weapon and a lifebar. I want to add some trap too.

uuav says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:24pm

@NuSan Yeah I didn't saw it at first.I hope you will put game in this shader, because it looks really cool.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:05am

The art style is gorgeous distinctive. I found the animated sky distracting, but understand that what I'm looking at is a nice little programming playground and you are completely foregiven :)

I know the hatching is baked into your textures but it makes me wonder if you can't do procedural hatching in a shader instead, so as to make a true 3D interactive scene that appears to have been drawn with a biro and excellent hatching

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:07pm

Cool looking but that's about it :). Good job anyhow.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:55pm

inspiring! so beautiful =O
amazing job!

lekochen says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:42am

Amazing graphics.

Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:17pm

The textures are beautiful, though I would turn the specular highlighting down a bit on the walls.

The up and down motion while walking for some reason gives me a headache when coupled with the moving sky and pulsating textures, but this really is a small and easily solved problem.

You really should do something more with this, because the art style has a lot of potential!

sPe says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:08pm

Besides the missing parts: The graphical representation is awesome for 48h.

Mago says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:23pm

great grafics too bad there is nothing to do.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Whoa, this is gorgeous. Turn this into a game, for god's sake!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]