December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Puny Heroes

by Blooperly - Jam Entry

Build and manage a dungeon, and protect yourself from the puny heroes! This is a dungeon-defense game in which you play as the boss of the dungeon. Build units in the different rooms of your dungeon, and don't let the hero get to your lair!

Instructions:
There are two stages to the game, the planning stage and the attack stage.
During the planning stage, click on rooms to create/upgrade your baddies. Each build/upgrade costs 100 gold, which you gain by killing adventurers.
During the attack stage, the hero will storm your dungeon and attempt to kill you! Oh no! Luckily, your faithful minions will sacrifice their own lives to protect you.

Purple Heart = Minion Health
White Heart = Hero Health
Red Heart = Boss Health
Gold = Gold
LV = Level

Good luck!

Edit edit: Ok there are still some bugs. Just pretend they don't exist :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#123Graphics(Jam)3.47
#162Innovation(Jam)2.87
#206Theme(Jam)3.06
#231Audio(Jam)2.15
#248Overall(Jam)2.67
#263Fun(Jam)2.31
#292Mood(Jam)2.07

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:52am

yeah, just the fact that i can place every single one in a slot at no charge makes this game ... ungamely? :)

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55am

Haha yeah well, those last 2 hours were crazy.

Manuel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57am

Nice concept, and looks polished, except for the gameplay part ;)

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04am

Even though this isn't a lot of fun (a lot of waiting) and is sort of buggy, I think your sprites are really simple (in a good way) and cute, good job.

I'll update my ratings once you get to fix some of the bugs. Good luck.

caasi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:10am

Like your art, combats take toooooooo long.

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:46am

Thanks for the input :D
Just finished fixing combat, now I am working on balancing.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:13pm

Interesting concept!
I'm sure if you work at it more it could grow into something really neat! I like the look of your characters. :)

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:09pm

Looks like it could be really neat with some more polish and some audio :)

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:36am

I really like the overall appearance of the game. Though like yourself and others have already said, it could use some tweaks/balancing. It has a lot of potential though, nice work! :)

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:25pm

It's good. Maybe speeding up battle and adding a music would be cool !

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:40pm

Nice concept, but it would be nicer if the pace can be speed up.

metadept says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:37pm

Needs some balance/polish/bug fixing (obviously) but I like the concept. Would be very cool to add things like traps and variable dungeon layouts.

Blooperly says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:07am

Yeah, the original idea was to have units traps and treasure rooms, but some of it had to get cut. I am going to participate in the One Game a Month challenge, and one of those months I may resurrect and recode this whole thing.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:23am

I like the simple tower defense layout and clicking to purchase a unit. If you continue to develop this, I'd be interested to see quicker combats at each intersection.

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:27pm

files on drop box have been deleted or moved.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:05pm

Something happened to dropbox files: they are missing, could not get the game.

Blooperly says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:36pm

Fixed

Jiddo says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:08pm

The idea is certainly cool. In fact, it is somewhat similar to our own!

There is a bit too much waiting involved tho. The ability to place multiple mobs in a room doesn't really feel intuitive. I would rather be able to upgrade the ones I placed there before. Also, the path traversed by the hero in the maze makes no sense. It shouldn't be random in the sense that he can walk back a way that he has already been on. It'd be better to pick a reasonably short route to the boss.

Graphics look really good tho and the controls are intuitive, for the most part.

Blooperly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:13pm

Is it placing multiple mobs in a room? oops. Its supposed to upgrade.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]