Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

ANNOUNCEMENT BAR! I give you important event updates here, but this is usually invisible.


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Alphanauts - dom2d - Jam Entry

ALPHANAUTS
Dominique Ferland - Game Designer & Art
Pierre-Luc Poirier - Programmer & Music
Ian Girard - Programmer

Controls
Letter keys (press and hold) - Control 1 or more characters
Arrow keys - Move selected character(s)
Enter - Start game
Esc - Quit to menu, Quit Game

Alphanauts are trying to survive an onslaught of strange black holes long enough to scan weird, dangerous rooms.
You control all of them - up to 26 characters! Simply press and hold a letter key, then use arrow keys to move the Alphanaut marked with that letter. You can control multiple little guys at once too!

The situation can go to hell pretty quickly - dying alphanauts form black holes too, and death will affect all the other characters on screen. Calling upon a dead character by mistake will cause painful memories to his grieving friends, plus his skeleton will rise from the darkness to attack his old teammates!

Survive as long as you can, as the black holes spread faster and more and more Alphanauts join the fray!

Theme
There is no enemy in the game, except the dead Alphanauts you trigger by pressing the wrong keys! You are your worst enemy!

View dom2d's journal. | View all entries by dom2d

Ratings

Coolness61%
#15Innovation(Jam)3.94
#51Overall(Jam)3.60
#55Graphics(Jam)4.02
#75Audio(Jam)3.36
#85Mood(Jam)3.25
#94Fun(Jam)3.15
#213Humor(Jam)2.22
#313Theme(Jam)1.98

Comments

nihilocrat says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:19am

Props for completing a jam entry ahead of the deadline!

dom2d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:03pm

Please note that the game ramps up after a few levels - please play for a little while to see how intense the game gets :)

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:09pm

That's weird but nice idea :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31pm

very unique twist on the standard arrow key control scheme. I had load of fun playing this, it can get hectic once you have more guys on screen.

Frolacosta says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:32pm

Interesting idea! There were some errors when trying to move more than three characters at once however

quill18 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:46pm

Excellent aesthetics!

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:47pm

Great. Really Fun and intense over time. Really good looking!

dom2d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:04pm

We noted some randomness in the keyboard errors depending on the OS! Usually on PC, the B N G and H letter keys don't work too well with others, and on Mac it's L and I, I think! Weird, eh? :P

gilesa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:13pm

Great graphics and innovative gameplay!

nihilocrat says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:30pm

Keyboard errors are probably due to the keyboard controller hardware, though I suspect OS can contribute, too. This is why, for example, the Arcade Royale arcade machine actually uses two seperate keyboard controllers because otherwise you would get really weird results when multiple players tried to press their buttons at the same time.

I didn't even think to try to move multiple dudes at the same time! Somehow I got to Level V anyways, but had to go afk suddenly, I was so bummed. My strategy was to try to space out the dudes as much as possible so that when a black hole appeared, I would only need to move one at a time in ideal circumstances. If I thought about multiple dudes, I would probably try to group together dudes who are close together on the keyboard, but otherwise keep the same strategy. Kinda hard to move A and P at the same time.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:47pm

Great idea !

dx0ne says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:15pm

Now I see those pretty images actually have sense :) Nice idea. Seems like it was fun to make and is kinda fun to play.

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Wow, the concept is amazing and very clever! The graphics are great and the music isn't that bad. A very great game for the jam!

Mysterarts says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:55pm

I love the aesthetics :) And the gameplay is original, well done team!

1CoinTeam says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:50am

Very great idea and cool graphics. Fun to play!

amassingham says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:09am

Great game with a great mood. Not quite sure how it fits into the theme though

SeventySevian says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:01am

Thanks everyone for the great comments!

@amassingham To fit into the theme, when one of your characters die, he turns into a skeleton and creates a black hole that can eventually kill the others. And as a player, when you accidentally hit the key of a dead character, you bring him back to life as a skeleton chasing your other Alphanauts to death.

nickworks says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:36am

Great game!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:24am

This game is quite fun; very well done.
- I really liked the graphics
- It indeed started a little slow, a tad faster progression would've been nice.
- The only thing I would've done differently is to use keys which are close or next to each other, e.g. Q,W,E,R,T,Y. But then you'd need to detect which kind of keyboard the person is using..

So yeah, well done :P

technobeanie says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:33pm

You guys are awesome! Thanks for all the good feedback on our little game! :D

Ashkin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:32pm

I got up to room U... And that's where it all went wrong D:
I guess the 'villain' part is where you accidentally create omeganauts by pressing the wrong key?
The gameplay is innovative and very challenging towards the later levels. The graphics were good, and the music was fitting. Well done!

luke161 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:05pm

Yo,

The game is lovely, great amount of polish, really slick presentation. The death animation and mechanics that arise from losing guys are really sweet, it's almost a shame you don't see them crop up till later levels.

If you were to expand on the idea a multiplayer could be cool, like half the keyboard each participant or something (player 2 on w,a,s,d I guess??). Agree with other comments that it could ramp up a bit smoother, but the curve isn't too bad, we're all just too impatient!

Didn't expect anything less from you guys, definitely one of the top games in the comp, good work!

(this is @papercaves by the way ;) )

luke161 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:06pm

Ramp up in difficulty a bit 'quicker' I meant to say ;)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:20pm

Impressive polish. Love the idea!

Too bad it doesn't have anything to do with the theme :(

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:36am

Amazing. Difficult, but amazing!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:05pm

I was super good until the two last levels (with VW/XYZ) where I had only 3-4 survivors. One of the greatest game I played. Graphics are great, Gamaplay and controls are very innovative...the only problem is the theme, Ii's VERY slight.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:05am

Interesting gameplay!

Your own mistakes will haunt you!

pereubu says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:42pm

Great game, I was about to give you a bad mark for the theme until I saw the description (mah, good excuse). Also, i love the graphics which weren't enough used ( i wanna see moar now :( ). Really nice concept for such a short time :3

jerombd says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:02pm

Original concept for sure with awesome graphics but ,I don't know, I didn't find it's so fun overall ... probably I failed everytime with a very low score :/

Pitoum says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:18am

Great idea! Highly polished.
That's a great way to use all of our keys :) Maybe the control are a bit rough (I'd like to go in diagonal).

Houly says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:30am

Looks really great and feels polished.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:57pm

Style. Substance. Innovation. This has it all.

Plus it's educational. Fantastic work.

bentog says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:10pm

Cool idea, the player must be aware of the whole thing to win :D

BNeutral says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 2:30am

Pretty good. Expected some sort of victory screen after room Z.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Absolutely amazing job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]