December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Evil Driver

by rogerklotz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Driving game where you earn stars by causing a traffic jam and getting the other drivers to drive as slowly as possible.

Visit http://playdit.net16.net/ld25/ to see how the project progressed every 2 hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#134Innovation3.43
#146Humor3.19
#151Theme3.70
#213Fun3.15
#315Overall3.08
#511Mood2.52
#513Graphics2.56
#629Audio1.00

Comments

shatterhand says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:33am

Genious idea!

refrag says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:34am

Interesting play on the theme! I quickly discovered that there was a sweet spot on the track that I could stop at that would clog the entire street. But a very good concept. Nice work!

ripter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:38am

Very fun.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:00am

Haha very good idea :)

madmaw says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:01am

The perfect game for the holiday season, where everyone drives like a complete moron

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:40am

Great idea, nice execution.

RipX says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:50am

Innovative idea. Would have been better if my browser wasn't moving around when I pressed up and down.

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:26am

Really clever gameplay idea! The other drivers' movements are very convincing.

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:38am

Very nice take on the theme!

dek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:44pm

Loved the idea, very well programmed and fluid gameplay.

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:36am

I *love* the concept (lolboston), it's very creative and fun :). You should add bonus points for most cars simultaneously exploded, lol

Toadpud says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:37am

Funny, and original.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:40am

I like the idea! I know you are not supposed to, but I couldn't help just going on a rampage running over other cars!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:49am

Very creative idea!

Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:21am

It was really fun putting my foot down and watching the speedo keep going all the way round past 200

TDRGames says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:56am

Weave and slow down? meh.
Push 'em into the median so they can't go fast? 5 cars go by while you're off-roading.
Go 150 and explode 'em? ok that's more like it.
Go 150 the wrong way? Heh.
Go sideways? WIN. 0.2 mph :)

GagaPete says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:09am

Nice idea and game is fun but I had problems to understand how to get stars.

pereubu says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:47am

Great use of the theme ! A few people did use the idea of the "everyday villain". Controls are smooth and easy, the gameplay is challenging. It took me a few seconds to understand the real goal, the "tutorial" i think, should be more visible :D Great job !

GameRespect says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 10:17am

Reminded me of Burnout (which is good), and I liked how the other drivers try to move away from you as you speed towards. Awesome job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]