Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Hostile Hostels - crashbanito - 48 Hour Compo Entry

***Bugfix Update (The source has been updated to reflect changes)***
*Fixed a potentially game breaking bug where the player would have to wait 100 seconds after the final wave before they would receive their win screen. It is now 10 seconds as intended

***Plays best in Chrome, Firefox, and later versions of IE***

***You do not need to click every bird; you can simply click and drag over them. You'll be wanting that extra finger endurance for the end game***

Welcome to Hostile Hostels!

The name of the game is shady Hotel Management. Create hotels on grave sites as a horrible way to stop brave adventures from getting to their destination. Try your best to prevent the good guys from surviving the night.

This is my first Ludum Dare entry and my second game I've ever finished.

Enjoy,
Chaz Louviere (Crashbanito)

***Did you know? After awhile the game becomes so overloaded with enemies that they stop spawning. After a friend triggered this, I decided to create a win screen. Attach a screenshot if you can survive that long!***

[Tools]
Audio: Audacity
Development and Imagery: Game Maker Studio: Pro + Plus HTML5
Extra Editing: Notepad++

View crashbanito's journal. | View all entries by crashbanito

Ratings

Coolness55%
#27Audio3.70
#109Humor3.36
#148Mood3.22
#348Innovation2.91
#393Fun2.79
#403Overall2.91
#444Theme3.03
#557Graphics2.42

Comments

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44am

That music is hysterical!

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44am

The title is funny, but it could just as well be called 'Dove genocide'

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:46am

Like tower defense in 1-D! Music is interesting

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:25am

Very rare that someone would do acapella for their game music, so I must give you high marks for that! You need far more to do than clicking on the little doves, though.

BTW, thanks for including the source as a series of files instead of just one .GMK bundle. I wish more GM users would do that.

AlexFili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Funny little game. Good job with the music, the gameplay itself is what's letting the game down a bit.

crashbanito says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Yeah, I really wish I had the time to incorporate more building types and ratchet up the pace a bit.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:14am

The music is amazing. I really liked the game.

Progression was a little slow - it would be great to have more options. Great work.

csanyk says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:53am

Music was great.

In Chrome, for some reason it scales up too large to fit the view, and I can't read all the instructional text and much of the game is offscreen. Seems to render correctly in Firefox though.

crashbanito says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:07am

@csanyk That's odd as I used to Chrome primarily to test it. Have you tried zooming out a bit in your browser?

recursor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:08am

Funny music. I'm not sure if you intended it, but if you hold down the mouse button and drag it across the sky, you can kill the birds without clicking. Overall it is pretty cute, however, I wish there were more to do.

Devenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:10am

MY POOR FINGER. BUT IT IS DONE. https://dl.dropbox.com/u/12753061/I_did_it_gosh.png

surpy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:24am

It was really fun, I enjoyed the music. I got to 811 seconds, by that time there really was no hope for me.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:55am

Interesting, although I could never manage to upgrade to the 3rd hotel. I didn't really get why the hotels kept geting knocked down.

crashbanito says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:57am

@Jezzamon Basically, the heroes are trying to tear them down and they can get a hit in before they lose a hit of life, as the towers are very dangerous.

atrodo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:26am

The music is hilarious and the game is fun, but my finger got so tired of clicking on those doves.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:01pm

Slightly dull gameplay, but hilarious music!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:27am

It's DoveClicker 2000(tm)! The music is fun and major points for those hum-pom-pomming it. (Yes, that is a verb, since today) Like the other tower defence games, it's more of a weird sideshow than a game, but fun in a frantic sort of way. Your screenshot shows $149500, I don't even want to know how many dove-clicks that took!

haxpor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:49am

Music is hilarious!

wzl says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:28pm

Wonderfully disturbing soundtrack. Creates a nice atmosphere for the game :D

minireview: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#crashbanito

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:38pm

Yeah now I see why you wanted us to zoooom in. My huge monitor made it nearly impossible at the default size. The doves were like microscopic little things! Great and hilarious music and sound effects. The gameplay is a bit bare, but you have a decent start to a new type of TD.

Datw says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Impossible to win! I've had about a million bucks and still couldn't click as fast as they destroyed my hotels :( But nice game though, and loved the music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]