Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Who stole christmas - StMatn - Jam Entry

We proudly present "Who stole christmas?"

In this game you play a minion who has the task to steal christmas presents for his master.

We wish you much fun, and a tr...merry christmas ;)


Mapeditor-manual is finally out! You can find it in my journal.


(If you want to see the ending, but the game is too hard/frustrating, let me tell you, that there is a cheat. To avoid spoilers here, a hint is included in my journal-entry, which I've posted right after the deadline. It has to be entered on the world-map-screen)



If the game doesn't start, please make sure, that:
-you have the proper working java runtime environment installed
-you have unpacked the archive (Windows lets you browse the archive, but the game isnt able to access the resources, when launched inside the zip)

OK...i've said it many times, but this time the builds should REALLY work on different systems. I tested the Java6-Version under a Java6-JRE and it didnt start a exception-storm in the console, so I believe it should work. Versions aren't operating system specific. If you run Java7 on your mac you can unse the Windows-Download and if you're using Java6 on Windows, the Mac-Download will work for you.
To check your version go to the console/terminal/cmd and type in "java -version" (and hit enter, of course;) ) it should print something like >>java version "1.x...<< where x is your version.

Known issues:
-Problem loading level-icon on Linux ->fixed (Linux is very pedantig about filenames)

View StMatn's journal. | View all entries by StMatn

Ratings

Coolness100%
#74Theme(Jam)3.73
#98Fun(Jam)3.14
#121Overall(Jam)3.21
#135Humor(Jam)2.73
#143Innovation(Jam)2.96
#159Mood(Jam)2.83
#186Graphics(Jam)3.06
#226Audio(Jam)2.22

Comments

Quantumvm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:54am

What a lovely game! Far more difficult than I initially anticipated but the challenge only made it more fun. Would have been nice if you laid off the default java buttons a bit though ;D

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:27am

i can't get it to run...

SirJson says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:14pm

Cool game! It reminds me of Commander Keen 1 a bit ;)

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:39pm

I get a UnsupportedClassVersionError: gui/MainFrame error when I run the game. I'll try again later on a different computer.

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:56pm

Is it possible to get a Mac version?

Joozey says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:12pm

Very nice game! Challenged me to keep playing, and the overall gameplay is well balanced. A hard thing to do, especially in such a short time! Congrats on releasing such a solid and complete game.

StMatn says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:18pm

Hey Starspell!

The "UnsupportedClassVersionError" seems to occur, when an application is compiled for a later jre version, than your currently installed one. You can check your version by typing "java -version" in the cmd.

If your version is lower than 1.7 (it will print >>java version "1.x...<< where x is lower than 7) you may want to get an update or tell me your version, so I can recompile the game, to support lower versions.

If your version actually is 1.7, all I've written is complete bulls**t. In that case I would be thankful for a short information.

Thank you for reporting the issue!
Greetings,
StMatn

StMatn says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:30pm

Hey youdonotexist!

I have absolutely no idea about mac-compatibility of java-programms. The 5 minute web-investigation told me, that mac supports jre 1.6, so I will recompile and reupload it in a minute.

Would be cool, if you could tell me if the windows-version works for you, when the recompiled version is up.

Greetings,
StMatn

Keevor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:13am

Really liked the idea. Harder than i expected.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:36am

The art was quite nice, and the concept and implementation are great. Very nice and polished entry.

Yngar says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:01am

Good game, pretty difficult. Protip: if you walk through a door at the same time as an enemy you can room swap without getting caught.

Kuulog says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:05am

Very interesting concept. I liked the intro sequence.

Niki says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:15am

Hey guys, (especially Kuulog,) if you enjoyed the intro sequence, why didn't you go through the game? You have to finish it because you don't even know, WHO STOLE CHRISTMAS!!! (that's just a PROTIP ;) )

lando walters says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:58am

Nice job. I liked it alot.

Logan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:35am

Neat little game. It's got a sort of exploit, though. Since doors aren't counted as rooms, you can just stand in a doorway and be completely undetected!

I did enjoy it, though. The "never be in the same room" is a neatly-defined rule for a stealth game.

Faust says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:51am

Nice little game.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:06am

Sounds fun, I hope that you are able to put up a mac version. Would love to play and rate it! Congrats on entering.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:47am

Very difficult! The sound effects were fun. Makes me want to steal presents.

AyCe says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:20pm

Nice idea, got quite hard at the end. Did not find any hint, but from the gfx, I can see the ending is hilarious ^^

JesterBLUE says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:47pm

Neat game! the level editor looks cool and confusing. I was hoping that nabbing a candy cane would give me a 'sugar rush speed bonus' or something.

Shugor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:13pm

This game was fun! It also took me quite a while to finish, which is more than I can say for many other games in this Jam! good work!

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:20am

I loved it! Nice timing puzzle game which wasn't easy as all and that's why I liked it even more. Tough levels and even map editor? Nice! Walking sounds were a bit disturbing though and java buttons but that's not big problem though.

Oh and nice twist in the story! Loved it :)

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:17pm

Could not launch executable on mac. :-(

Jiddo says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:20pm

Really cool. I like the idea and the execution. Crossplatform support is also a plus! Graphically is looked really good as well. Tho, what's up with all the other non-present items that you can take? Do they actually serve any purpose?

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:05pm

@StMatn Thanks for putting up a Mac build.

What JRE version are you compiling with? I'm getting a "Unsupported major.minor version 51.0" error when trying to run it.

Doing a 'java -version' returns :

java version "1.6.0_37"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_37-b06-434-11M3909)

The only thing I could find with regard to what's going on was on Stackoverflow:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2466828/java-lang-unsupportedclassversionerror-bad-version-number-in-class-file

Hope this helps. If you're on twitter, ping me (@youdonotexist) if you need any help you troubleshooting your mac build.

StMatn says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:42am

@Mac users: please try the current version again. Eclipse was a bit misunderstanding so I believed I compiled the game for Java6, when it actually was compiled for Java7.

@Jiddo: The items initially should have purpose (locked doors were planned), but I quickly realized that time was short, so the implementation never happend. Currently they are just for decoration.

@youdonotexist: Thank you very much! Your last post was very helpful and it let me hunt down the problem. Like you can see in the first lines, it was a version incompatibility. I changed the global compilation settings, but did not notice, that my project had individual compilation settings activated. So, many thanks for your detailed report. I hope the game wont disappoint you after all effort you put in helping me :)

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:46am

@StMatn: I was able to get it running on my Mac by installing the 1.7 JDK from Oracle's site. Not the most optimal solution, but it worked.

I had a lot of fun playing this game. Awesome Christmas-themed execution of the stealth genre. My only nitpick was that collisions were a bit unforgiving and got caught while struggling to fit between a wall and a table.

haxpor says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:06am

Nice execution for Christmas!
A bit hard to distinguish which is a walkable block or blocked. But that's nice job!

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:45am

I'd say this is among the top 10 games I've played so far JUST because the feel of the gameplay is so nice and crisp, aside from a few tight squeezes. Aside from that you've also got good graphics, and nice humorous storyline, even if it's clearly taken from The Grinch who stole Christmas, and I enjoyed it overall, in spite of the difficulty. Keep up the good work!

StMatn says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:16am

Thank you for all this astonishingly positive comments! Feels great to read all this lines :)

@DaGamesta: Thank you very much for the compliments. I dont know exactly the ending, but the wikipedia-article clearly says, that the ending of Dr.Suess' story isn't the same as ours. The jar-name "spoils" the fact that the grinch actually has a major role in the story, but there also is this mysterious other one. The intro shows a master and a minion ;) You may want to check out the instant-win-cheat, described in my journal :)

dek says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:37am

Nice concept, liked the entry :)

BrothersT says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:43am

Nice little game :) well done.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:29am

Double clicked, but it won't run :(

StMatn says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:08am

@sclark39: I'm sorry, the game does not start for you :( If you would post some information on your OS, Java-Version and supposed you start is from console/terminal an error-message. Unfortunately I haven't got many possibilities for testing different systems, but if you report a problem, I promise, I'll do my best to try to solve it. For the problem to solve, I just need some information, where to start the bug-hunt ;)

dj_pale says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:32pm

Can't figure out how to play past the tutorial when I get to the star-map :}

StMatn says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:44pm

@dj_pale: The star-poles represent a level, each. Just click on them to enter. Yellow stars are unlocked levels, grey ones are locked. You unlock a level by winning the previous one. Start in the USA. To win a level, "just" collect all presents and go to the exit-zone(indicated by little signs with "exit" on them). A check mark right next to the slots in the present-count-bar will indicate, that the exit is open. Win the last level to see who the mysterious master in the armchair is.

P.S. I very much like the smiley you posted :D Could it be kind of a reference to something? :P

AdricZero says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Spent several minutes trying to get it to work on Windows 7. Could not find the main class.

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:25am

Worked great for me on Windows 7. I like this take on the theme. It was pretty hard though, and maybe things like places you can hide (under trees?) would help with that.

By the way, if you're looking for a better host than drop box, you might want to check out the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. This would have fit in perfectly with out December holiday theme! Either way, nice job!

StMatn says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:53am

@AdricZero: I'm sorry, that the game won't start for you. If you could provide some information on your java-version and things youve tried to get it to work, i'd like to help figuring out the problem.

@KevinWorkman: Thank you for trying our game! The idea about places to hide actually was part of the development-plan, but got kicked out because of lack of time (real life, mostly sleeping and eating, took too much time ;) ).
Also thank you for the offer about your website. I definetly will have a look at it, when I get some spare time :)

Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Argh the collision detection was frustrating! It's fun when you don't get stuck though :)

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:14am

There are some bugs here. I was in another room and it droped me out to the level selection screen. Once I teleported through a wall and I even walked to the opposite direction.

It's a good game though. What are the hearts for?

StMatn says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:47am

@tripleVisionGames & @RawBits: I'm very sorry for those glitches. We finished the game just in time, so we didn't have any time to give it any polish. The hearts and other items initially schould have purpose, but there was no time to implement those features. Thank you very much for playing :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]